Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Vintage Photo Friday March 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized,Vintage Photo Friday — twlowenstein @ 1:26 pm
Tags: ,

I love this triptych:

3333497048_596b8f731e_o

I found these three photos in different places among  my great aunt’s belongings and was thrilled to see that it’s the same woman over time.  I estimate it to be a 50-60 year span.   I wish I knew more about her, her name and her story.  She seems fairly no nonsense judging by the same hairstyle and glasses worn throughout.

The back of the last photo reads:

vpf-backDoes that say, “This is Mama’s don’t you think it is good of Aunt Im”?  Hmmm?

I am sick about the hole in this one.   I regret to say that it came into my possession sans the canyon there.  Sometime I think my home is where vintage comes to die.

&

Here’s the growing (yeah!) list of folks playing along.  Let me know if I forgot you or you want to be added!

Green Jello

Knot Sew Crafty

Sheep on a Spring

Pineapples & Artichokes

and soon Pamdora

Through the Looking Glass

Handy Crafts

My Own Crafty Wonderland

Woolanthropy


 

13 Responses to “Vintage Photo Friday”

  1. […] Both photos were stolen from my sister. More vintage photos at Paper Dolls For Boys. […]

  2. Annika Says:

    I love this SO MUCH. I’m thinking it says Aunt Em?

  3. Annika – lol, so maybe her name wasn’t Imelda like I had imagined! Yes, “Em” of course!

  4. Shannon Says:

    I’d guess it’s Aunt Ima.
    My mother in law was holding onto a box of old photos she wasn’t ready to trust to the us postal service, and then her house flooded. At least you’ve scanned it in now, before anything else happens, and you can always photoshop the boo boo away.

  5. Shannon Says:

    I think you should tell your family you are interested in saving the vintage photos and see how they react. Share what you’ve already uploaded and you will probably get flooded with requests for you to do theirs. At least, that’s what happened to me.

  6. Ellen B. Says:

    I wanna play too! I’ve posted a vintage photo of my brother from the early 1950’s today!

    Ellen B.
    “L.A. Is My Beat”

  7. cindy Says:

    best one so far! it’s so interesting to see how people age.

  8. Crystal Says:

    Fantastic photos! Love that it is am age progresion.

    My house too is a vintage dying ground. It makes me heart sick sometimes.

  9. Natalie Says:

    She looks like a solid, pragmatic type of gal. But I bet she could tell stories.

  10. complete stranger Says:

    Although it does not look like it, I am guessing it says “Aunt Irma”. Kindred Spirit may have some vintage photos from the Allen Clan. Will ask her. And Ellen B., 1950’s? Vintage? You are breaking my heart here! LOL

  11. kindred spirit Says:

    I do have photos that I will be sharing when we make our trip!

  12. weird, i actually have a giant post of all vintage photos loaded and ready to be written. quit invading my MIND, woman!

  13. Mel: I invited vintage photography. True story.


Leave a comment