Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Duckie Birthday Party May 19, 2009

Filed under: Birthday Parties,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , ,

My youngest is a boy obsessed with rubber duckies.  Really really loves his duckies.  So we had a Duckie party to celebrate his 3rd birthday last weekend.

Invitation blog

I sent out this invitation using a photo I took of his “Duckie Shop” that he sets up thrice weekly.  Do not get your hopes up, each time you ask, “Can I buy a blue duckie?” He takes the blue duckie and puts it in a pile and says, “Not fer sale!”  No matter what, none of the duckies in the Duckie Shop are ever actually for sale.  Fun game.

Birthday Banner

I hung this banner at the park.  My sewing machine bit it so I glued this baby together.  Actually a little harder to manage than if I could have just pinned and sewn.  I freezer paper stenciled a birthday message.  I like the way it turned out and plan to hang it in his room when we move.

Cake and Goody bags

Cake and goody boxes. I bought fabric to sew goody bags but a) my machine wonked out and b) I had already bought these Chinese take out containers as part of my ‘be nicer to yourself’ project. I had these little photos printed up at Snapfish (highly recommend them, much better job than my beloved Flickr) and used them for the labels.

Duckie Cake Pops

Here’s a ttv shot of the cake and the duckie cake pops I made.  I saw them here and here.  They were harder to make than I anticipated, why do I never learn?  At first I made them fist sized and not surprisingly found them to be unwieldy as I dipped them in the yellow candy melt mixture.  But then I smartened up, reread the directions and went with something closer to the quarter size they were suggesting.  Next time I would add less frosting, maybe no frosting and just cream cheese as a binder b/c these things had to have been sickeningly sweet.  I had no desire to try one.  It was all about the joy on my little one’s face (oh, and the PHOTO opportunity).  The cake below I was quite proud off.  To bake without eggs is not so easy.  I layered 4 cakes and slathered a blue dyed coconut/frosting/cream cheese mixture between and all around.  Layering was key because egg-free cakes tend to have very little rise to them so this cake felt substantial, like a “real” cake.

party

Waiting for guests to arrive.  Wearing a vest he picked out of the dress up drawer just for his party.  Dapper little dude.  See those balloons?  They were supposed to launch the ceremonial pacifier off into the sky (and out of his mouth) to mark turning 3.

Up

Half way through the party a great wind (or my husband’s loose knot tying driven by fear of LWP – life without the pacifier) whisked the balloons away.  Plan B – sew those suckers into a stuffed duck.  We’ll see…

parachute

The most fun the kids had was making “duckie popcorn” with the parachute.  It was perfect because they could all do it at once and there was minimal parent direction.  They just popped those ducks all over the park!

DSC_0148

In this lovely hand made bag was a lovely box with a rubber duckie “handle” on the lid.  My son immediately ripped it off.  He treasures the box but insists that the duck goes INSIDE the box, not on top.  Sorry L about his critique of this particular craft.

DSC_0150

There were no complaints however on this next craft.

DSC_0157

Do you see the greatness that is this shirt?  Duck, duck, GOOSE!  Lauren freezerpaper stenciled it, she is the MASTER.  He got many more lovely duckie themed presents, including a duck umbrella that is as cute as all get out but I don’t think my husband wants me posting the photo of him under it.  Will check and get back to you. Update:  He acquiesced.

n1420435484_30370944_7346368

Love that man.

DSC_0171

Thank you to my lovely contact on Flickr, PaperNest who suggested feathers in playdough as an activity.  The kids loved it and a couple of the adults got in on it.  My father in law declared my friend Vonda the duck modeling genius of the party!  Disclaimer:  this is not a shot of Vonda’s work.

DSC_0270

Here one of my best friend’s daughters taking a good whack at the pinata.  Isn’t she adorable?   This was my last party pinata.  We made one before that didn’t break so we went with store bought and it also didn’t break without serious adult intervention.  I did kick it old school and let the children fend for themselves.  There was not one shove or tear involved and it was a lesson learned for me.  For my oldest son’s 3rd I had individually wrapped bags for each child inside the pinata so it would be “fair”.  Blah blah blah, no FUN!

pinata spoils

Thank you to all our friends who came and helped to make this such a joyous celebration.

We love you all and look forward to hosting you in what we damn sure hope will be our new house!

Birthday Collage

My little guy in the cool duck costume sent to him by my doting parents, A-One grandparents!  My big guy wore this to welcome the kids to the party.  They worked it out that he was the “number one helper” of the party.  Very sweet.

I wonder what next year’s theme will be?  I am challenging myself not to start thinking about it until the party is 3 months away, instead of my usual 6 month mark!

 

13 Responses to “Duckie Birthday Party”

  1. Sluggerville Says:

    Maybe someday I’ll make it to a B-Day party. 😦

  2. Always invited brother! Next up, Star Wars (or Ninja Warrior) in July. Let me know. 🙂

  3. Anne Says:

    I bow down to you.
    Oh my, so much cuteness – duckies! The banner! The cake is so flipping cute it should be in a book.
    Chinese take out boxes with a fabulous duck picture!
    You rule and I hope you do Star Wars next, because I want to see it.

  4. kindred spirit Says:

    Sooooooooooo cute! Glad everyone had a great time. Hope the farewell to pacifier works out in some other cool way! I am so excited for you about the house. I saw pics and I can invision you there!

  5. melissa s. Says:

    I deem you Queen Of The Rubber Ducky Party. You are awesome. Happy birthday to your little guy!

  6. Annika Says:

    What an awesome party! Our boys must be practically twins, we had Sam’s 3rd birthday party on Saturday as well.

  7. Natalie Says:

    ROCKING party! You really created something special in all the details.

    Happy Birthday to your little guy!

  8. Crystal Says:

    Awesome! That party looks like a blast!

    Happy Bday to your litle man!

  9. becca Says:

    fantabulous! love all the color in this post . . .

  10. Ann Forster Says:

    You did a bag up job girl! Loved the banner, and the boxes with the duckies on top (and the aftermath) and that the pinata had to be “put down” old school!

  11. Complete Stranger Says:

    You should go into party planning in your spare time 🙂
    Wish we could have been there . Outstanding, colorful, fun day of celebration! So glad to be able to share via photos.

  12. Lisa Says:

    Looks like a super fun party! I love all the details…your birthday banner, cake and goody boxes are fantastic!

  13. […] kitten themed party 6.  Amy’s Giraffe themed birthday party 7.  Tracey’s Rubber Duckie Birthday Party 8.  Vera’s bee-themed playground […]


Leave a comment