Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Oh So Purdy October 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 12:02 pm
Tags:

Can you hear the pout?  I have written many clever posts in my head over the last few months and to be perfectly honest, dear readers, I am a little hurt you didn’t leave me funny little comments.   But who can stay mad at you?

Here is a little vintage goodness I present to you as a gift of reconciliation.

Isn’t that a winning cover?  The font alone makes me happy but then you layer in the ticking and the little shinny apple and I am pleased as punch.

There is nothing wrong with the back of this book.  It is perfection and I am thinking on an occasion to use this for an invitation.

Sage advice.

A happy thing indeed.

I got nothing but I plan to scan them all so I didn’t want to skip C.  I will say 3 is my favorite number. Fate that I found this book at a rummage sale?  You decide…

Doll a little creepy but the text more than makes up for it.  “No one has ever seen a doll grow up.”  The author has a good sense of a child’s brain.

 

I will add E-Z another time.  I actually have some time on my hands, shoving away from the computer to better spend it.

I have missed you.

 

 

13 Responses to “Oh So Purdy”

  1. KellyGadzala Says:

    OMG I HAD that ABC book … I remember the hard cover! Flashback to the 1970s….

    • Send me your address by email and I will mail it to you when I finish scanning it. Be warned though, I am a SLOW mailer. 🙂

      • KellyGadzala Says:

        You are so SO sweet to offer to do that – thank you!! I hope this doesn’t appear ungracious but I have just given SIX huge bags of books to my local thrift shop as part of a major clear-out project that is ongoing, and even though I am a sentimental shop-a-holic thrifter I am trying to curtail the amount of stuff I bring into my wee pad! And you know, I may very well have this book in my stash of childhood books and baubles that I need to go through at some point, yikes! So please pass it on to someone else. I agree, the rag doll pic is slightly creepy – but hey 1970s rag dolls WERE creepy weren’t they? Think Raggedy Ann and Andy – they always freaked me out!

      • Kelly – I TOTALLY understand. I came across looking sweet but really my motives were partly selfish. I was trying to pawn this off on you so I myself would have less clutter!!! Glad you liked seeing the book again, in it’s less messy photo form. Good luck with your clean out! Cheers.

      • Visty Says:

        Tracey still owes me a Trader Joe’s bag……..bwahahahahahaha……..”I want my two dollarsssssssssss!!!”

  2. Alexis Says:

    Rest assured that I am leaving you funny little comments in MY head! I take it as a good sign that you are not blogging much–you must be spending time in the real world, doing cool things!

  3. Lia Says:

    Purdy, indeed!

  4. Anne Says:

    Oh, love these books. Can you blog for me? I can’t do it anymore…maybe just leave funny comments and people can read those.

    • I am slogging along with blogging. I have a feeling I am not the first to type those words. Pitiful.

      Why don’t you just post your amazing photographs for a spell, no words? I love your photography. Maybe we could do something with Visty, a photo blog project. Think of anything?

  5. that book looks awesome. especially love the doll one. and not just b/c one of my sons loves dolls.🙂

  6. LOVE LOVE LOVE this book is just so wonderful and happy-making! Thank you!

  7. agf Says:

    I have been searching for this book for years! I had this when I was little. I remember how shiny the pages were. I hope to fine one for my little girl:)

  8. Anonymous Says:

    My brother and I had this book too, in the early to mid-1980s. We’re now 33 and 29.🙂


Leave a Reply

