Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Favorite Thrift Ever August 11, 2010

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 12:24 pm
Tags: , , , ,

People are always asking me what my favorite thing I ever thrifted was.  Okay, no one has ever asked me before.  What the heck?  It’s the perfect question.  So if someone were to ask me this thoughtful question I think I would have to answer a roll of waxed twine.  It’s been 4 years and it seems like a magical replenishing spool.  I have used it to package my etsy packages, wrap birthday presents, as clothesline to hang kid art, in craft projects and just as a beautiful piece of functional art sitting on the counter with a pair of scissors sticking out at the ready.  I love it.  I’m using it at the moment to wrap around my paint by number frames (more details to follow on exciting new plan of action concerning my PBNs).  Will photo both projects when finished but in the meantime, I was wondering:  What is your favorite thing you ever thrifted?  Could it be more exciting than mine, probably not but give it a go.  Link back with a post on your blog or if you don’t have one or are lazy, just leave a comment!

Let’s hear it:

Potty Mouth Mama

The Rinrins

Ranch Dressing with Eartha Kitsch

Thrifted Treasure

I’m starting small, let me know if you want me to add you to this link.


 

5 Responses to “Favorite Thrift Ever”

  1. Lia Says:

    That’s a hard question. I think I have to let it stew for a little bitand get back to you.

  2. Oh yay!!! I’ve been dying for somebody to ask me this question too!! I think it HAS to be the Raymond Loewy designed Le Creuset casserole I mentioned in this post http://thriftedtreasure.blogspot.com/2009/06/be-still-my-beating-heart.html

  3. Visty Says:

    I think I’d have to say my favorite would be these two tiny little milk glass (but blue, one dark and one light) flowerpots. I have kept them from breaking for more than 12 years…I know I had them before our oldest was born. I can’t use them to plant anything because they are too tiny and one has a round “drain” hole in the bottom. But they have always been on my kitchen window ledge.

  4. Mine probably has to be a doll cradle that I found for 50cents. It had been taken apart but I could see that it would be perfect for my first granddaughter. I sanded, and sanded, and bought new screws…at least a couple of times before I got the right size. I painted and replaced the bottom and stenciled Sarah’s name. It probably cost me another $20 before I was done with it! I could have bought a new one cheaper!

  5. Chairs, it can only be chairs. I answered this question here…http://blogperennial.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

