Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

I’m Not One to Brag, April 20, 2010

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 7:15 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

unless I’m talking.

Feel free to join me in bragging over at my new Thrift Therapy group on Flickr!

Today was a beautiful thrift day.  It was a mother/son hang out day.  My oldest son, 7, has the eyes of a hawk and can spot good thrift with the best of them (so very proud).  We hit 3 thrift stores and came away with some vintage love.

I plan to paint the frames pink or something, anything, other than that yucky wood.

I got the pillow for 1 dollar.  1 DOLLAR!!! The art work came from another thrift store for $4.99 a piece.  More than I like to spend at the thrift store but it seemed a match with the pillow.  I often find that thrifting days have an unintentional theme.  Today had a yellow thread.

I have a couple pair of these skates now.  I am past my skating years (ok, weight) but in the day (read: elementary school), I happen to win a speed skate contest at the local rink.  So maybe it should have read, “I’m not one to brag, unless I am talking OR typing”.

That does indeed say “50 cents”.  I already put it on the shelf in my kitchen.  I am a sucker for anything with it’s original packaging.  Bake King!

An old napkin holder that I plan to use in my craft room for holding paper.  No plans for the tiny coaster yet, but I snapped it up mostly because it’s metal and cheery.

My son spotted these bowling pins.  We are debating turning them into candle sticks or planting them in the garden.  What do you think?

My son also spotted 2 of these for a quarter each.  Seeing as how we were feeling like SUPERWINNERs, we bought them.

I think I squealed when I spotted these.  Planning to use them in the garden, pot some plants in them, maybe plant them to look like mushrooms or maybe just put on kitchen shelve.  Any ideas?

This tape dispenser isn’t vintage but it was cheap and it’s a perfect combination of functional and quirky.  The bug was a big fan.

I had a hard time taking a good photo of this.  It’s solid brass, ugly beautiful and cost 3 bucks.

I hope to spray it red or rust it out and rewire it for my craft room.  I say that but I have never had anything rewired in my life.  Expensive?  Reasonable?  I think it’s going to work in the space.  Photos to follow one day.

Another day of thrift therapy, I will go to sleep happy.

 

16 Responses to “I’m Not One to Brag,”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Wowee! What a bunch of scores! Please keep those pots inside so that they will be preserved forever. They are fantastic.

    And that frog: oh em gee.

    I’m late to say so but congratulations on your speed skating victory!

    • If I were a milk drinker, it would’ve been out my nose. I accept your congratulations and don’t know why more people don’t offer up the acknowledgment of my former glory.
      PS- I miss you like mad on Flickr and the fact that we are bloggily connected makes me very happy.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    NICE! That fish chandelier (fishelier?) is to die for. Shouldn’t it be yellow, to follow the theme??

  3. dag Says:

    is this a challenge???…. i’ll be out there tomorrow, so we will see! enjoy the beautiful stuff — my favorites are the lamp and the half hidden pillow under the roller skates.
    sleep happy!

  4. Natalie Says:

    Good stuff, Maynard!
    What a haul. Makes me want to go on an expedition.

    Unfortunately previous expeditions have the house to overflow conditions. It’s a buy one thing, kick two out, kind of deal at this point. GASP! I know. So sad. But it’s just so I don’t end up on an episode of Hoarders, which has recently become my greatest fear. It used to be flying off the back of a treadmill, but I solved that problem by avoiding the gym.

  5. Lia Says:

    You should be bragging with a haul like that! I think I’m in love with everything you got, but my favorites are the Home Is Where the Heart Is pillow, the napkin holder, and the fishelier.

    And since you asked for suggestions on the bowling pins, I think they would look awesome climbing up some stairs or steps. Do you have any of those? You might have to start collecting them, though, to do that.

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    I must have your speed skating trophy someplace!!! Indeed, a great haul of treasures, and the big boy has a good eye as well as his mom! I love your blog; you crack me up!

  7. Sharon Says:

    $1?! $3!?

  8. Sharon Says:

    That was also supposed to say

    (Over the pillow and the chandelier)

  9. Sharon Says:

    OK, clearly it’s not letting me post things in brackets:

    “seethes with envy”

  10. meghan Says:

    I also pick up skates every chance I get. skating is a great way to loose it! yes, you can burn off 600 cal. in a hour.

  11. Robin Says:

    lovely treasures.

  12. Ange Says:

    Hi!

    I have an idea for the red pots with white dots! Remove the handle and pop them upside down on a wooden log so they look like mushrooms? Plant the posts first and pop a self tapping screw in the top to keep them on! It could be the start of a lovely fairy garden in the back corner? Further thrift adventures could add to the fairy garden?


Leave a Reply

