Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

I’m in the Mood to Brag February 13, 2010

It’s been written about before, by myself and more eloquently by others, but thrifting is a modern day treasure hunt.  People either have the hunger or they don’t, more scores for the rest of us!   A few weeks ago I scored big.  I was in line to pay for a couple of vintage children’s books at the Good Will when a woman dropped off a couple of big blue boxes.

The boxes looked beat to hell but what was inside was unused.

I imagine she got them as a wedding present and they had been sitting in her basement for ages.  The biggest box contained 4 column candlesticks.

I paid $9.99 for them.  SHAZAM.

I have not added candles yet (or taken off the blue paper on 2 of them, tacky!) but slapped them up on the mantel as a trophy, like the head of a beast.

The other box contained a set of hand-blown champagne flutes.  Also unused and nestled safely in their original box.  I paid $4.99 for those.

The woman who dropped them off was still there as I snatched them up and appeared horrified at the price I paid.  She kept saying, “They are Tiffany!”  “Stop thrift blocking, Lady!”. I wanted to say but did not want to antagonize her.  I tried not to make eye contact and scurried out with my spoils as quickly as possible but I could sense that it may have been her last thrift donation.  Pleased as punch I got to be her send off!

Do I like crystal?  Not really.  I had some non-Tiffany sitting in my basement for years up until our move last summer.  It was over cut and not my style at all.  Would I have looked twice at the candlesticks had they not been Tiffany?  Maybe not.  I am not ashamed to say that I am caught up in the wonder of the blue box just a little bit.  Not enough to buy anything at retail but thrifted?  You bet.

Plus they really are elegant and just calling out for me to rustle up a dinner party…

 

11 Responses to “I’m in the Mood to Brag”

  1. Lia Says:

    Nice. Quite the score! They are pretty. They’ll look cool at Halloween with some black candle sticks, too.

  2. Holly Says:

    SCORE!!! I would totally have been swayed by the blue box (isn’t that the POINT of the Tiffany blue box??).

    I wonder why that lady was donating Tiffany to the Goodwill if she wanted big (Tiffany-esque) prices attached. I’m not sure that she gets the point of Goodwill.

    Enjoy your great finds – they seem like the perfect excuse to have champagne or Mimosas…

  3. So jealous I can barely type!!!

  4. Alexis Says:

    You are the Queen of Thrifting!!

  5. Anne Says:

    Tiffany. I just want the box. Best line ever “thrift blocking.”

  6. Visty Says:

    HIlarious! I’m glad she got to be there to see the awesome deal. I think they’ll fit in just fine in your house, maybe next to the fish.

  7. marjorie Says:

    “They are Tiffany!” LOL!!! Thanks for the laugh – and congrats on your score🙂

  8. mewhee2 Says:

    Nice! That is awesome! I sometimes dream that I will find vintage Coco Chanel on the racks at my local thrift store. One of these days…

  9. Natalie Says:

    SCORE!

    awesome find and right out the woman’s hands. Impressive work.


Leave a Reply

