Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Playroom December 30, 2009

Filed under: Home — twlowenstein @ 3:13 pm
Tags: ,

We were lucky enough to be able to buy our first house last summer.  After being crammed into a little apartment for 7 years, which was worth it because the trade-off was I got to be a stay at home mom, it has been a whole new world of quality family time.  A lot of it has been spent in the attic.  We had it converted into a playroom for the kids and a music room for my husband (he is a good sharer though).  Links to before posts: 1 & 2

And my little blur of motion going down those same stairs.

*

This is the building zone.  Blocks, games, people, etc.  Go ahead and say it, I’ve heard it before.  I don’t feel like my kids have an excessive amount of toys and I will proudly tell you that most of them are craigslisted, freecycled or thrifted.  A bit defensive, perhaps. 🙂

The book area over there behind the rubber ducky collection.  Okay, you have me here.  It IS excessive.  The boy loves his rubber duckies, what can I say?!

Dress up and dramatic play area.

This is the playmat area.  Our hope was to leave a big blank space that the kids could manipulate and rearrange as the game and their creativity dictated.  Also we wanted a place they could get their energy out in the winter.  Here they are this morning, building a house out of the of the playmats I scored off Craigslist (I searched for about a year and got lucky one day last summer!).

And here are the little ones getting some of that energy out the other day.

Can’t type much, too nervous.  Going to get an emergency root canal in an hour.  Arrrrgh.

 

18 Responses to “Playroom”

  1. Hope you will not have much pain with the tooth. Ouch! Good to see you back in Blogville! I know you are enjoying your space. I talked to your Mom this morning. They were almost in Virginia.

  2. Jess Says:

    What a wonderful family space!
    I have a neighbor who brings in their backyard climber (it’s one of the small ones) into her attic during the winter so her kiddos can still have some large motor activity.
    What a gift for your kids to have that space!

  3. Holly Says:

    What a beautiful space for all of your boys. Looks like it will inspire a lot of play and creativity.

    Good luck with the root canal!

  4. Lia Says:

    The Playroom looks great and the play mat area rocks.

    And I don’t think that’s an excessive amount of toys. Looks normal to me.

  5. Ken Says:

    Totally envious becuase we live in a cracker box ourselves. I want a playroom! BTW – Happy New Year!

  6. What a fantastic space!!! Are those rubber duckies superglued to the ledge? They’d have to be in my house or my boys would have great fun playing tip the duckie down the stairs🙂

  7. Expat Mom Says:

    Wow, that is a truly awesome space! I think there can be excess in mindless toys like electronic and battery operated stuff. Mats, dressup stuff and building things? Never. I only wish we could find mats like those for my kids! We are slowly building their block collection though. They got three different kinds (also thrifted) for Christmas.

  8. lexi Says:

    Tracey it looks WONDERFUL! I love how you’ve transformed it (but heck I loved it before too). You two definitely have a real talent for putting great colours together, this space just SINGS! What a beautiful space to play in, for all three boys.

    And if it makes you feel any better, my MIL is always banging on about how many toys our children have. They don’t, I mean they do, but loads are thrifted, found on the side of the road etc. ANyway, like my own Mum says, how long are they kids? Don’t feel like you have to justify. x

  9. Sharon Says:

    Too many toys!? Pfft! Our playroom is obscene and nowhere near that nicely organized. My big resolution for 2010 is to purge all the weird little plastic stuff we’re not using. You did an amazing job with the attic – I can’t get over how different it looks! And I am (again) absolutely GREEN with envy over those mats – I’ve wanted some for years – there must be some sort of mat cartel that keeps retail prices so high🙂

    Good luck with your tooth – that sounds scary, but I’m guessing it will feel better after…

  10. Complete Stanger Says:

    The attic playroom is even more fun in person. Loved the time we spent there with you all a few days ago. Some of those fabulous learning tools ( ie: toys) may have even been grandparented! You and Eric have done a really wonderful job creating a space that is safe, fun, and beautiful for the whole family! Miss it already.

  11. I remember you posting a picture of that space maybe before it was a playroom? I know I remember that awesome window. That space is perfect, I am so jealous, our house in inundated with kids’ stuff in each room, no dedicated playroom to speak of. one day…

    happy new year!

  12. Alexis Says:

    Wow! I want that to be my playroom!

    I hope your root canal was ok–my poor 9 year old has to have one next week!

  13. tonya Says:

    This looks incredible! Good job with the rehab.

  14. Heath Ashli Says:

    Love the play attic, what lucky kids! I wish you had these pictures on flickr!


Leave a Reply

