Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Craft Night October 28, 2009

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 4:59 am
Tags: , , , ,

I was finally able to host craft night!  Kind of a big deal since our last apartment was too small to host such an event.

I think Trader Joe’s is the new Martha.  I hoisted 7 boxes of various  fried cheesy bites of goodness from the freezer and my hostessing job was nearly done.

After the “what? I always keep the place this clean” cleaning and the hors d’oeuvre heating up, I was too exhausted to think of a craft so I took photos of the crafts of others in progress plus odds and ins around my kitchen with my iPhone.  Is there a crafty app?

craft night 4

This craft night we had a new member join us.  We sent emails back and forth suggesting a light hazing might be in order, an excerpt:  Maybe the first time she comes, we could all be working on fake projects like an artificial floral arrangement, bedazzling a sweatsuit, and making a toilet paper cozy.  We’ll ask her things like, “Do you think this is over bedazzled or just enough?” “Does this floral arrangement look classy, like it would be in a really fancy hotel?”

Yeah, I know, we’re CRAZY.

craft night 3

But despite all our big talk, we welcomed the new member with open arms and she’s great.  She is doing this cool project, the pattern of which you see above.  She is crocheting the kippot (yarmulkes) for her daughter’s bat mitzvah.  ALL of them!  I wish I had gotten a photo of one.  I imagine she’ll be working on them next craft night as well!

craft night 5

Another crafter made a lovely necklace from these beads.  I set the bowl on top of my lame attempt to craft.

craft night 1

What I love the most about the Polaroid app is there is no cropping.  It is what it is.

craft night 2

Scarf on chair.  After this I gave up “crafting” for the night and focused on the aforementioned TJ bites of goodness (and badness).

attic cable

And I don’t know if any of you are still with me because I have become sporadic because life has become more hectic (in a good way) but here is a teaser.

Our attic is FINISHED!  I will do a before and after post this weekend.  Total transformation of the space and how our family will use it.  Woot!

 

12 Responses to “Craft Night”

  1. lexi Says:

    Strange things happen Tracey. I was just showering and thinking, I wonder where Tracey is? I wonder how that house of hers is? I wonder what’s happening in your neck of the woods. ET VOILA you’re eating cheesey snacks and taking cool photos. I can’t wait ’til the next installment of your beautiful new abode. xxx

  2. lexi Says:

    I mean – I wasn’t thinking – where’s Tracey why isn’t she in the shower.. NOW THAT WOULD BE WEIRD.

  3. becca Says:

    hi-larious and boo-ti-ful!
    *still scheming to get up North*

  4. Alexis Says:

    I’ve got to get a craft night going around here. Martha Stewart lives five miles away–do you think she’ll come if I invite her???

  5. melissa s. Says:

    Woot! Lovely pics and by all means, they count as ‘crafty.’

    Your friend in sporadic,
    Mel

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    You have always been “crafty” on soooo many levels! Your new idea of photos as your craft just bumped you up a notch! And the cheesy snacks sound yummy. Know you are happy to be able to host in such a lovey new habitat!

  7. Lia Says:

    I wish you had hazed the poor girl with the bedazzling and such. I just love to say “bedazzle.” Cracks my shit up.

  8. Visty Says:

    I thought I commented, but that must have been on facebook…damn facebook…

    I sure do get happy when I see you posting. And I hate all your friends for getting to do craft night with you.

  9. Natalie Says:

    I love a good craft night. Your pics are awesome. Because of you I have some Skelly-mingos in my yard. They are the only decorations in the yard. Hopefully a jack-o-lantern will join them tonight. Looking forward to seeing the attic makeover.

  10. Sharon Says:

    I am already jealous of your new attic, and I’ve only seen that one picture. Your craft night sounds awesome – I wish I had a regular craft group!

  11. Complete Stranger Says:

    By the way, I saw the same “wire” type rail that you have by your attic stairway on the tv show, “NCIS” today. It is used along the second level of the room and up the stairways! Cool.

  12. Your craft group sounds like so much fun. I miss the group I was in in Emporia. Your attic space is awsome! Can’t wait to see more pictures.


Leave a Reply

