Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Classroom September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 5:12 am
Tags: , , , ,

I have been remiss in posting.

Going back to work after 7 years at home will do that to a blogger.  That and the fact my keyboard has decided it will no longer put out the letters ‘h’ or ‘y’ so every time you see them, know that I cut and pasted each badboy .  Not fun.  And not to sound like a complete whining baby but something is seriously wrong with WP and/or my computer because it took 13 minutes to post each photo.  And now to rapidly move from whining to bragging, photos taken on my new iphone (using the Polaroid app).  Woot!!!

Sharing of a bit of what has kept me from you:

My teaching partner and I worked really hard to set up the classroom this summer.  She has taught in the room for a long time so even though we made some changes, I am not taking even half the credit!

IMG_0155

Art area.

IMG_0158

Wall in the math area.

IMG_0169

Monarchs!

IMG_0159

The building area.

I particularly love the chalk board where kiddos can plan a building, make a representational drawing of their structure, or just doodle!

IMG_0160

Dramatic play after some serious work of play.

 

There were more photos but due to the crazy time thing, I’m holding at 5.

The transition from stay at home mom to a working outside the home one has been a relatively smooth transition.  Ok, the first week we did leave the house at 7:30am, both of us thinking the other had locked up.  I came home with the boys after school, errands and dinner out at 7:00pm to find our door WIDE open.  Two nice police officers walked through the house to confirm that yes, we were at once the flakiest and luckiest residents in town that day.

So schedules will evolve but the good news is that I was ready to go back to work, I got my dream job at a school of amazing teachers, I highly respect the game of my teaching partner,  I love our sweet little class of kiddos, and I still GOT IT (it just moves a little slower)!

So just a check in to say that I miss your blogs, I miss VPF (keep ‘er strong), I miss blogging and I miss you but I will ride again!

 

16 Responses to “Classroom”

  1. prairie daze Says:

    okay, those are some beautiful and cozy corners.

  2. Visty Says:

    Wow, I would love to be a kid in that room. A real chalkboard! With chalk! Glad to see you here again. I missed you!

  3. You know I think that room is AWESOME!!!!! And this is a good nudge for me, who’s also been on in absentia in the land of blogging.

  4. meninheira Says:

    Ohhhhhhhhh I love it!!

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    YOU ARE BACK!!! Have missed your blog entries so much. Your school room is inviting and creative, and reflects so much planning and love for your children. Wish I could be a student of yours! OMG, you WERE lucky about your house. Were your security signs out front? You have been missed, but know you have been busy with some fabulous things going on in your life.

  6. So good to see you are back. I know you have had your hands full with new things. I love your room…looks very comfortable and inviting. Good luck with your new chapter in life!

  7. Chris Says:

    You’re back! They must have some crazy administrators at that school to keep you so busy- but all that hard work really shows in that beautiful classroom of yours! I’d send my own kids there and demand that you were their teacher!

  8. Natalie Says:

    What a beautiful classroom. Enjoy the new work. We are glad to see you around.

    Love the polaroid app. Gotta check that out.
    Check out Rollip.com
    It turns your photos into polaroids too

  9. Erin Says:

    I love your blog. I’ve been trying to get in touch with a community of creative teachers. Please visit my teacher blog. I’ve been using thrifted goods in the classroom. There’s a link on The Foolscap Flyer blog http://erin-thefoolscapflyer.blogspot.com , to my thrifty blog Toronto Yard Sale Snoop, which has some photos of this year’s classroom.
    Sincerely,
    Erin

  10. Lia Says:

    I can’t imagine how hard it must be after a 7 year hiatus! I’m still whining a month into the year, but only after the summer break. No matter how much we love our jobs and our kids, it’s real hard to get used to NEVER having any time for ourselves anymore. At least not until June. I even dream about school and all of the thousands of things I need to do. I’ve been promising myself I would make something, anything, for weeks now, but all I’ve managed to make is few choice zits. I don’t miss summer or anything.

  11. melissa s. Says:

    looks like you’re in a beautiful and happy space – literally and figuratively. good luck on your new journey!

  12. Paige Says:

    I’m so happy for you! What a lovely little classroom, and I can only imagine what an awesome teacher you are.

  13. Alexis Says:

    Gorgeous room. I’m so glad that things are going along so nicely for you!

  14. your room looks great! and congrats on being back at work somewhere you love. I hope one day that when I go back it will be somewhere so cool! what age or you teaching?

  15. are you teaching I meant. oops.

  16. marjorie Says:

    Good for you! love the photos…


Leave a Reply

