Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

They Call it Chowdah August 4, 2009

Filed under: Home,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 10:53 pm
Tags: , ,

So did you know that movers have a term for all the unpacked crap that is unyet boxed when they arrive?  I did not know until last Tuesday.

Sweet shit moving is hard.  A lot harder 7 years, 2 kids, a mess of lbs, and a festering thrift addiction later I TELL YOU.

I am embarrassed to admit that I actually had visions a plan to set my craft room up (in it’s entirety) the first night.  I am laughing at my former, less exhausted self and her silly plans.

I think I was prepared for the physical strain of moving but it was/is the emotional stress that has clocked me.  The public-ness of the process was not enjoyable, it felt a little like going outside with your pants down.  First folks come in and throw your stuff around, exposing all kinds of crud underneath, then they march out the door, displaying your junk until it gets to the truck.  Then you turn around and put on a show of excess for your new neighbors.  Delightful.

I (kinda) wish I had gotten a photo of all the trash we left in front of our old apartment.  It was an embarrassing mound, an embarrassing mound that spanned the entire length of the property – double lined.  And usually I am a good donater or freecycler but time was falling on our heads and we just put it all to the curb.  A couple of folks pulled over (after my own heart) to trash pick.  So much “chowder” was left in our apartment and we needed the stuff out in  2 days if we wanted our deposit back, and we DO. (Hello sectional sofa!)

I will stop complaining now because these are good changes that are happening.  I will appreciate and embrace them with grace, right?

Random shots from around the house:

DSC_0019

Newel post at the base of the front stairway.

DSC_0006

Above the stove.

DSC_0025

Bit of the kitchen floor, original to the house, which is almost 100 years old.

DSC_0032

Don’t YOU have a toilet in your yard?

DSC_0011

Vintage Photo in Kitchen (will hopefully be back to Vintage Photo Friday next week).

DSC_0015

The Bromeliads are from our thoughtful neighbors!

DSC_0002

Snippet of the craft room.  Excuse the blur but somehow a blurry photo of cameras made me laugh.

DSC_0003

More display of my collections in the craft room.

I still have a crush on my Etsy Boyfriend there in front.  Isn’t he handsome?  Wish he could help me unpack though…

I started a Flickr group called, Just Moved.  Please join if you’ve moved in the last year (or ever in your life!) and share your thoughts and photos.

 

9 Responses to “They Call it Chowdah”

  1. I know what you mean! We moved a couple of weeks ago and my hubbie decided to move the stuff with a mate’s help, I spent months packing and the couple of days before the move pulling the fridge, sofas etc out and cleaning under and behind them to avoid the embarrassment of all the crap that was there being seen!

    • You get a gold star! Sounds like your planning paid off – I spent the last couple of days before the move frantically shoving crap into boxes. Too busy for a thought of the terrible site under the sofa. 🙂

  2. All I can say is been there done that….many times! It is never easy and the sad thing is, the older you get, the harder it gets. I am still looking for things here and we have been here for ayear. But eventually it does all come together. I think at the end of the first day if you have a place to sleep, you are ahead of the game!

  3. Eartha Says:

    It’s so true! When we moved, I felt so vulnerable…so naked…all of my old and new neighbors seeing every inch of our stuff. I wished then and now that someone would come up with a moving company that will move your stuff under the cloak of night.

    I feel so happy that you have a toilet in your yard because we do too! We also have a sink.

    Your house is gorgeous & you’ve got a great eye for decorating. Don’t get too torn up about getting everything done at once because hey, you’ll be there a long, long time…you’ve got time. Enjoy the newness. : )

  4. Sharon Says:

    Those floors! Those door moldings! I am seething with a friendly sort of envy. Moving IS exhausting, and it always seems like the stuff multiplies towards the end. As far as the chowder, the nice thing about professionals is that they have always seen worse. Or, you have now provided them with a great “Can you believe this lady?” type of story to tell for years. Either way, it’s win-win 🙂

  5. becca Says:

    um, excuse me, but as a person just embarking on the packing up the house to show it off and sell it stage, I kindly request that you re-write the post to reflect a much more rosey-toned manner, missy.
    I am a bit flustered and I haven’t even finished the basement. I need hope! a silver lining! or yes, an undercover moving company. or an arsonist. (I JEST. for now)

  6. Anonymous Says:

    How many times do you REMEMBER moving in your life? A LOT! But I am sure this was the most difficult. Hey, you still have your sense of humor. Your delightful mate is still there unpacking with you, and help is on the way. By the way, I like the idea of The Stealth Moving Company…in the dead of night.

  7. tonya Says:

    I joined! Mainly because I really really really want to move. Getting impatient looking for our dream house. Or even just a daydream house.

  8. Lia Says:

    My goodness! Your house is beautiful! I can’t wait to see more of it.


Leave a Reply

