Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Home Slice July 16, 2009

Taking photos of food is harder than I figured.  I have new respect for the beautiful food blogs than I read.  Some of my favorites are:

She Simmers

Noble Pig

Matt Bites!

I was pretty darn proud of last night’s creation so I gave it a go.

3724535329_9302b76ed1_b

Whole wheat crust topped with carmelized onions and zucchini,  roasted fingerling potatoes with smoked paprika and Gorgonzola cheese.

DSC_0002

Then I topped it with some greens dressed in Trader Joe’s Champagne and Pear vinaigrette.   It was pretty darn yummy, typed the modest chef.  The crust was too thick because I didn’t roll it out.  I tried to do the whole pizza throwing thing, also not as easy as it looks.

What’s your favorite pizza recipe?  Anyone try grilling pizza? That’s my next frontier.

 

3 Responses to “Home Slice”

  1. Natalie Says:

    That looks and sounds delicious. Bravo!

    We have a pizza stone for the grill. The grill has the ability for higher temps than the oven making the pizza crust oh so yummy and crisp. Plus in the summer, we don’t like to use the oven. It just heats up the whole joint.

    My favorite thing to make is foccacia. Slice it lengthwise very carefully while pipping hot. Spread La Tur cheese that has been mixed with chives or other herbs and then put the top back on the foccacia. This is the best grilled cheese sandwich I have ever had. The hubby is in charge of dough and I the cheese.

    here;s one of my favorite food blogs. Her photos are amazing.
    http://cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/

  2. Sharon Says:

    Dang, I am all sorts of impressed that your kids will eat pizza with such ingredients on it. I would love it, but if I served that, my boys would act like Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes when his mom serves dinner.

  3. melissa s. Says:

    ooh i’m late commenting, but it’s never too late to post a drool comment is it? droooooooool!!! we’ve named this the summer of the grilled pizza around here…need to write a post on that. ugh. soon!


Leave a Reply

