Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Vintage Photo Friday June 19, 2009

Filed under: Vintage Photo Friday — twlowenstein @ 9:54 am
Tags: ,

I feel, at once,  a tad egotistical and OLD putting photos of me in Vintage Photo Friday.

And yet…

granny and me

I am so glad to have and share these photos of my Granny and Granddaddy holding me as a baby.

I grew up in a different world than my grandparents.  They lived in small small rural North Carolina and I was born in Thailand.

We were heading to my grandparents’ beautiful and bountiful garden when I was about 6 maybe and I excitedly proclaimed, “We’re going to pick some potatoes!”.  Who knew they did not grow on trees!  Despite the fact I must have seemed like a little creature from outer space at times, my grandparents always made me feel loved and cared for.

granddaddy and me

My granddaddy greeted me with, “Hello Ugly!  You’re getting uglier and uglier every time I see you!” every time he saw me.  The way he said it conveyed that he thought I was cute as a button.

I wish I could sit at their table, introduce them to my children, eat some amazing collards and dumplings, and listen to their stories.

Check out some more vintage photos & stories:

Green Jello

Knot Sew Crafty

Sheep on a Spring

Pineapples & Artichokes

Pamdora

Through the Looking Glass

Handy Crafts

My Own Crafty Wonderland

Woolanthropy

Los Angeles is My Beat

The Bee Bonnet Report

Living, Laughing and Loving in Austin

A Jen Too Many

Raine-works

dobco

Cheetah Velour (one of the best blog names EVAH)

 

10 Responses to “Vintage Photo Friday”

  1. What sweet pictures. I still think you looked like Jennie as a baby! Sign me up for your Vintage Photo Friday…I have arrived on the BLOG scene!

  2. What wonderful pictures. I know what you mean about whether or not we are Vintage, scary huh???

  3. Alexis Says:

    Those are amazing pictures! I’m afraid that I am old enough to be vintage…

  4. ‘You’re getting uglier and uglier every time I see you!’

    Ha ha! That’s so sweet!

  5. (PS-sign me up for VFP so I can play, too? Thanks!)

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    Yes, IF ONLY, we could sit with our grandparents, parents, friends whom we miss and loved …one more time…maybe in the next life…surely collards and dumplings will be a part of that life!

  7. Ellen B Says:

    You were the CUTEST rosy-cheeked baby I’ve ever seen!

    I know what you mean about posting OUR baby pix. I’m trying to dig up baby photos of my parents!

  8. Crystal Says:

    You were the cutest kid. 🙂

  9. Thanks for adding me! 🙂

    And thanks for the compliment! I will tell you a secret. I am named after the seat covers in my car. A frightful 70’s car.

  10. Natalie Says:

    Those photos are great of you with your granny and grandpa. Really special and sweet.


Leave a Reply

