Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Let ’em June 2, 2009

Filed under: Craft,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 3:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

In our house the boys cheer excitedly when the “Sharpie Mushroom” comes down off the shelf.  I used to call them the “Mommy Markers” but they seemed to intuit the superior quality of the Sharpies compared to their washable markers and their calls for the “Sharpie Mushroom” increasingly became louder and louder.  Then one day, I let them use them.

The house did not fall down, they did not make themselves mustachioed bandits, and the wee one didn’t even run down the hallway screaming as he made a wiggly permanent line.  All things, I guess on some level, I feared.

Sharpie Mushroom of Joy

One of my favorite projects the boys made with the Sharpies was decorating wooden clothespin dolls.

Made by Eben.

I have a thing for wooden dolls (see, I told you I’m morphing into a crazy cat lady who collects toys instead of cats) so my oldest made me this beautiful beast of a doll.  I adore the colors he chose, especially the teal boots.

He made the instrument/sculpture that sits behind the little dude at school.  I love that he goes to a school that allows him routine contact with nails.

Hell, next to nails, the Sharpies are kids-play!

 

8 Responses to “Let ’em”

  1. becca Says:

    all Hail the Sharpie! and the nails. I’d love to see the classroom! We’d have some good notes to share I’ll bet.

  2. Too funny. Just FYI my sister and I DID give each zebra striped legs with sharpies the day before we left for a FL vacation. But you know what? We lived to tell about it!

    • So you were even a creative kid?!!! The first time I put my oldest in a box with markers and let him go to town, I was so proud of myself for being a laid back mom. I kept thinking that they were washable, no problem. But then after he’d covered himself in marker I came to realize they were not in fact washable. We weren’t on the verge of a trip to Florida, thank goodness! Your parents must have good attitudes. 🙂

  3. Lauren Says:

    it’s best to learn early the magic of sharpie… just look out for permanent marker dots on their noses, then you’ll know if they’ve been sniffing them.

  4. oh the nails! i too am glad, as my boy hammered the heck out of the 3.5 inchers we used for our garden box. thanks, hannah!

  5. melissa s. Says:

    i love the mouth and boots, too. what a creative mind your little guy has!

  6. Anne Says:

    I have the letter E scribbled on my dining room wall…it adds something. I love this little guys face, perfect.

  7. caroline Says:

    That doll is FANTASTIC!!!

    Dude, Elsie draws on herself so much, if I gave her sharpies she’d contract some crazy disease from so many chemicals seeping through her skin.


Leave a Reply

