Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Thrifted May 31, 2009

I have not been in a blogging state of mind lately.  I have not been writing much about us being in the process of buying a new house because a) it’s not that exciting b) there are many hurdles to jump before it really happens and c) I am saving up all my house themed posts for AFTER we move in.  You have been forewarned, I plan to bore you silly with the decorating details!

I have put my Etsy shop on hold, it will return specializing in funky ephemera (someday), but I haven’t stopped thrifting.  I wanted to share with you some great scores I got while in NC visiting my parents.  My father is a super collector of tins and this is one trait that hasn’t skipped a generation (unlike good looks and modesty that Daniel and I inherited from Granny and Granddaddy!).

Thrifted Tin

I am scaring myself in my advancing age.  I am turning into a crazy cat lady but without all the cats.  Turns out I collect vintage children’s toys and vintage products aimed at children.  I will admit to being slightly embarrassed by this fact but unable to curb the impulse.  Does this make me kooky or pitiful?

thrifted Tin Side

I mean could you resist these frolicking baby elephants?

YumInside of this beauty was a bunch of lovely vintage buttons.  I picked a few out to share.  I made button rings before and that was fun and easy.  Do you have any other ideas of fun projects to do with vintage buttons?

thrifted Buttons

And here is a peony in our yard after a big storm today.  I am going to miss that plant.

Peony

 

7 Responses to “Thrifted”

  1. Thrift finds always make for some good blogging! Buttons are fun although I really have no creative ideas for them at the moment.

  2. Lauren Says:

    i really like that candy tin. the colors are great. i know what you can do with great vintage buttons. give them to your friend that loves buttons… hmmm, do you have one?

  3. rwms Says:

    Hey T. I like the cans. When you get in your new house with all the room, maybe there will be room for some of my can/metal box collection.
    About the every other generation thing, we need to talk and figure out exactly where each of us are in this ‘every other’ cycle you mentioned :). (you didn’t expect that did you?) dad.

  4. Eartha Says:

    Those tins are fabulous! Oh, and there is nothing wrong with crazy cat ladies. OR vintage children’s stuff collecting ladies.
    Can’t wait to find out about this new house!

  5. Visty Says:

    Peonies transplant just fine, I hear. Take that sucker with you!

  6. Chris Says:

    Kooky, definitely. In a GOOD way!


Leave a Reply

