Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Vintage Photo Friday May 29, 2009

I had a lovely surprise sitting on my doorstep yesterday.  I big ole box from my Aunt Donna, aka Kindred Spirit!  She had made 2 adorable little bags for my sons filled with just the right things.  My youngest has carried his duckie bag around yesterday and today with the cutest green duck in it.  It’s hard to find one he doesn’t have these days but she did it!   But better yet, there was also stuff for ME!  Sorry, it’s all about the kids usually, but everyone for themselves when it comes to packages!

Inside the box was a wonderful old black purse filled with vintage photographs.  Aunt Donna wrote, I am entrusting the family ‘Black bag’ to you!  It has held family photos for as long as I can remember.  Whenever we wanted to look at pictures, we would pull down the old pocketbook…It was a fun thing that we would do when we would all get together. How cool is that???!!!!

DSC_0005

She also included:

•  a vintage vegetable basket

•  a cake decorating set that was my grandmother’s – still in the box!

DSC_0001

•  a folding ruler that was my pop’s (grandfather) that has his name written on it – did I mention my LOVE of vintage rulers on here?

DSC_0007

•  a strap that was my great-great grandfather Hersey Britt’s.  Aunt Donna said it was used to sharpen razors and also used as a paddle when someone got a whuppin’.  We will use it purely for display purposes!

DSC_0002

•  Some sewing notions from my grandmother’s stash.  My grandmother Britt was an amazing seamstress and a very creative sort.  I remember her making the best doll cakes!
•  Some super cool Halloween decorations that will look perfect at the new place (chugging along, still moving forward)
•  and not of vintage interest but extremely thoughtful, she also included some coffee for my husband who does enjoy a good cup of coffee.  He was surprised and touched to be included in the box of fun!
So thank you Aunt Donna for all your thoughtful goodies!
&
Here are some photographs that I excitedly pulled out of the black bag.  My pop was in the navy and a bunch of the photographs were of his navy days:
pop navy
pop navy_0001
I think there is a target audience just waiting for these photos on ebay. Don’t worry Aunt D, I’m holding on to them.  Just sayin’ is all!
 

9 Responses to “Vintage Photo Friday”

  1. cindy Says:

    oh man what an awesome package!! I love old pics, esp when they are relatives. thanks for sharing

  2. Ellen B. Says:

    Double Wow! You hit the jackpot! Can’t wait to see more of the photos for VPF!

  3. Sara R. Says:

    What a great package!

    • iconolatrie Says:

      Great images – I would love to me added to your “VPF” list – I did my posted my first pic today.
      Thanks!
      Raine

  4. kindred spirit Says:

    So glad that everyone enjoyed the package! I had been setting things aside for when I came to see you. Since it may be awhile, I decided to go ahead and mail them. And if you can fetch a good price for any of the photos…other than Pop…go for it! I was on the verge of throwing them away. Maybe I will have Ken research what ship Pop was on. The pictures might be of interest to someone with family connections. Another project for another day!

  5. kindred spirit Says:

    By the way, the Navy pictures are during WWII. He was in the South Pacific and the pictures by the tree are in the Phillipines.

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    You and Kindred Spirit share Grandmother’s creative genes! I am so happy that KS put the big black photo purse into your hands. You will do them all justice. Pop would be more than proud to have his things in your interesting collection of vintage items. Besides being a very generous aunt, KS is just about the best sister a sister could have!

  7. Alexis Says:

    That stuff is fantastic! I think I need an Aunt Donna!

  8. Chris Says:

    How fabulous is all this? Love the folding ruler and the icing nibs. Ain’t your pop a cutie??


Leave a Reply

