Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Vintage Photo Friday April 17, 2009

Filed under: Vintage Photo Friday — twlowenstein @ 7:57 am
Tags: , ,

Vintage Photo Friday is back and badder than EVAH!  Sorry and thanks to those who carried on and didn’t give up the hope!

6a00e550fcf5508834011168f25e96970c-800wi

Ok, now that I have your attention – HELLO?  Anyone still here or have you all run screaming from your respective computers?  Just try not to look the clown or that poor kid in the face.  Do check out the beautiful hospital bed though.

This week I have a bundle of old photos found in the basement of my husband’s grandmother (Gram) home.  We miss her terribly.  Wish I could hear her say, “Oh REALLY!” again.  I once called her from my 1st grade classroom and put her on speaker phone so the kids could hear how fabulously she said, “Oh REALLY!”.  It was her not as subtle as she thought way of dismissing what someone said.  Gram had spunk in spades.

gram-vin-photo1

I believe these were all taken in Russia.

gram-vin-photo_0001

Here’s the back of the above photo:

gram-vin-photo_0002

Can anyone translate the text?

gram-vin-photo_0003

gram-vin-photo_0004

The boy on the right grew up to play violin for the Boston Symphony and the little boy on the left was a pharmacist in Rhode Island.

gram-vin-photo_0005

That’s him, second from the left, jamming with some friends.

violin-vintage

Here is a list of folks who may or may not still be playing along.  Let me know if you want me to add or bump you from the list.

Green Jello

Knot Sew Crafty

Sheep on a Spring

Pineapples & Artichokes

Pamdora

Through the Looking Glass

Handy Crafts

My Own Crafty Wonderland

Woolanthropy

Los Angeles is My Beat

Have a great weekend.  I’m looking Spring Break in the face and am feeling mighty happy for it!

 

11 Responses to “Vintage Photo Friday”

  1. cindy Says:

    aweome pics.. so cool. I’d still like to make it to Russia someday..

  2. Natalie Says:

    Great photos. The children standing or perched on the furniture are precious!

    Now can we talk about that scary clown photo?! Poor kids look like they were kidnapped. It looks like the nurses are aiding and abetting…happily.

  3. Annika Says:

    The violinist looks just like my (Sicilian) uncle!

  4. Alexis Says:

    Amazing photos!

    I feel so guilty! I’ve been a lousy Vintage Photo Fridays participant since I cannot get my stupid scanner to work, but I’m going to keep trying! You can take me off the list if you want, and put me back when I’m scanning.

  5. Ellen B. Says:

    Oooo…welcome back to Vintage Photo Friday! Those photos are totally awesome!! I, too, have many photos of Russian relatives sitting in a box somewhere. I will try to unearth more.

    I think we should all try to take more photos in front of staged backdrops!

  6. Visty Says:

    That first picture needs to be printed on a gigantic art canvas!

  7. Dag Says:

    great photos – and yes, that first one is soooo creepy!!!

  8. complete stranger Says:

    I love your Friday Vintage photos. Great photos today. You are right about the clown!

  9. Alex Says:

    Text on the back of the photo means that the photo was taken in E.Binkevich photo studio. The address of the studio – at the bottom. Grodno town has a long history and probably was russian at the time when the photo was taken. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hrodna

  10. Anonymous Says:

    About translation (sorry for my poor English) :
    Photo
    Beancovich
    Grodno (now – city in Belarus)
    Sobornaya steet, Chertka’s house (3-5 photoes were made in Grodno)


Leave a Reply

