Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Charlie and Pat, Back in Action April 2, 2009

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 2:17 pm
Tags: , , , ,

My favorite little thrift spot is seasonal and they just opened this morning for the spring.  I was there 20 minutes before opening with the little one, to wait in line.  The folks who came after me formed a lateral line which would have sent me into a rage if it were anywhere but C&P’s.  The thrift “store” is housed in a garage and it’s a little tight in there but I managed about 9 laps around the place, adding more to the stroller each time.  First thing I picked up was a replogle vintage globe on a beautiful stand, 2 bucks – BAM.  Then I spotted a vintage Boston Public School desk and chair, it’s lower middle on the grid.  Or at least the underside is pictured, the desk has elaborate wrought iron legs and a wooden top with a beautiful patina.  The chair is perfection on a metal base.  More photos to come when they are not shoved into the back of the minivan.

thrift-collage

Oh, and I got a COMPLETE box of vintage vocabulary cards for a quarter.  LOVE THEM THE BEST.  I have to go pick up my big guy from school so I’ll rush through the remaining scores:  vintage wooden kite string winder upper thing that is as light as a whisper, a mid-century lamp that I did not capture in it’s full glory – it has a double shade!, I got a milk glass chicken because it seemed like I should (not usually a chicken gal), a funky little metal bowl filled with seeds for 10 cents a pack, and a sweet little bird that I believe hangs out at bars and spits lime into drinks (at least that is my vision for her)!  Life is a little more sparkly with Charlie and Pat’s up and running.  It’s like someone hit the “vibrancy” on picnik a few times and I LOVE it!

Happy thrifting to you!

 

9 Responses to “Charlie and Pat, Back in Action”

  1. Dagmar Says:

    Congratulations! I used to live in Maryland, where I had “my own little Thrift Store”, at least that’s how it felt, it was only open on 3 days a week and I was happily waiting in line every Thursday!!! 🙂 I still miss that place!

  2. melissa Says:

    we have a globe like that- it lights up. I thought it was a steal for $25. We use it ALL the time.

  3. melissa s. Says:

    awesome scorage!!!

  4. I’m suffering serious thrift envy!! That globe is so beautiful and can’t wait to see the full pics of the desk, sounds gorgeous!

  5. Sharon Says:

    I was jealous before, but now I am seething with envy. (But I’m happy for you – those prices! WOW!)

  6. katiekatkat Says:

    I can’t believe you went without me!!! You can blindfold me so I won’t ever know it’s exact location….pretty please?

  7. Anne Says:

    I am quite jealous!

  8. Tonya Says:

    I have those same vocab cards (all 1000 of them)! They’re fabulously fun.

  9. Michelle Says:

    That lamp is EXACTLY the same as the lamps in my parent’s living room, circa 1974. I think my parents still have a swag lamp that matches it…


Leave a Reply

