Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

1 Year Blog Anniversary March 10, 2009

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 11:46 am
Tags: , , , ,

Thursday is my 1 year blog anniversary and it’s got me tongue tied and frozen. I am feeling the pressure to come up with a good give away, as I believe the tradition to be.  I also wanted to re-post some of my earlier entries, but I can not figure out how to do it.

I started without a working camera so all my shots were captured using the computer cam – yeah, it was not pretty but I just jumped.   And am extremely glad I did.  I have grown to know, and even meet a couple,  amazing folks through blogging.  I have gotten advice and support from you and every bit of it has touched my heart.  It has made some crappy situations tolerable because I knew it was going to be good blog fodder (I am talking about you public banana eater).  Blogging has reconnected me with my love for photography and has given me an outlet to experiment, learn and share.  Paper Dolls for Boys also gave me the focus and confidence to open my first Etsy shop (although long ignored, I shall soon resuscitate her).

From reading your blogs, I have laughed out loud (with you, with you all the way), tried new recipes, gotten ideas for crafts to do with my boys or try myself, related to you and your daily mom-ness, reveled in your creative endeavors and kind community spirit.  You all make me aspire to be a better blogger.

dsc_0012

I will be revealing the contents of the giveaway little by little.  As I figure it out really – I am thinking some vintage goodness is in order, books, fabric and general doo daddery. Part one of the giveaway is this “polaroid” esque photo of my Etsy boyfriend and all around mascot.   I adore him and he stands short on a shelf above my computer watching, always watching.

So if you would like to enter in my 1 year anniversary giveaway all you have to do is leave a comment on this post.  I think I’m kicking it old school and drawing names from a hat.  If you want to be entered twice, tell me a good joke in your comment.  I will leave it open until 6:00pm on Sunday the 15th and announce the winner soon after.

I appreciate your willingness to jump in with me and travel together in our little blog cell.  I am not a gushy type gal but I hope you are picking up what I am putting down!

Cheers,

Tracey

 

56 Responses to “1 Year Blog Anniversary”

  1. Annika Says:

    I would like to enter! I only know bad jokes, though.

  2. vidia Says:

    I would love to enter

  3. hi- i found out about your giveaway from the post on MY giveaway- shameless, you are! :o)

    i would love your boyfriend’s photo. i will even tell you a joke to be entered twice. i mean to have two entries for the giveaway.

    this is an old one from Stuart’s son zach when he was 5:
    Q. why did the cat cross the road?
    A. because he wanted some noodles!

    xo, m

  4. vidia Says:

    ok here’s my joke and I think it’s funny hope you do too…

    A poodle and a collie were walking down the street. The poodle turned to the collie and complained, “My life is a mess. My owner is mean, my girlfriend is having an affair with a German shepherd, and I’m nervous as a cat.”
    “Why don’t you go see a psychiatrist?” asked the collie.
    “I can’t,” replied the poodle. “I’m not allowed on the couch.”

  5. Hannele K Says:

    Jokes, oh no, not me… I don’t remember any, at least not in English… poor me, but would like to enter. And thank you!

  6. Kelly Says:

    Happy One Year Anniversary! I’m so glad that you have this blog. I always look forward to your new posts! (even without the banana eater coming into the picture…though, if we were throwing you a party, I’d have to track them down and pay them to eat bananas at your party…just sayin’…)

    Joke:

    Knock Knock.
    Who’s there?
    Pencil.
    Pencil who?
    Never mind. There’s no point.

  7. complete stranger Says:

    Congratulations on your one year anniversary!! I can’t tell you how much I look forward to your blog everyday! Yes, enter me, and here is my joke:

    Two nicely dressed ladies happen to start up a conversation during an
    endless wait in the LAX airport. The first lady was an arrogant
    California woman married to a wealthy man. The second was a well
    mannered elderly woman from the South.

    When the conversation centered on whether they had any children the
    California woman started by saying, ‘When my first child was born, my
    husband built a beautiful mansion for me.’ The lady
    from the South commented, ‘Well, bless your heart?’

    The first woman continued, ‘When my second child was
    born, my husband bought me a beautiful Mercedes-Benz.’ Again, the
    lady from the South commented, ‘Well, bless your heart?’

    The first woman continued boasting, ‘Then, when my third child was
    born, my husband bought me this exquisite diamond bracelet.’ Yet
    again, the Southern lady commented, ‘Well, bless your heart?’

    The first woman then asked her companion, ‘What did
    your husband buy for you
    when you had your first child?’ ‘My husband sent me to charm school,’
    declared the Southern lady. ‘Charm school?’ the first woman cried,
    ‘Oh my God! What on earth for?’ said the first woman.

    The Southern lady responded, ‘Well for example,
    instead of saying ‘Who gives a shit?’ I learned to say,
    ‘Well, bless your heart?’

  8. cindy Says:

    woo woo! congrats! I’m glad you started a blog ;o) Love it.. I’d tell you a good joke if i could remember one and if I did it would prob be SUPER dirty and innaproriate and then i’d be kicked off the blogosphere ;oP

  9. Dagmar Says:

    of course i want to be in!! thanks!

  10. Happy blogiversary! I have enjoyed reading your blog since I found it a couple of months ago. (I love vintage, craft, kids – so this is a very fun read for me!) Oh, and love the boyfriend.

    I can’t say it is a GOOD joke, but one that is in heavy rotation around here is:

    1: Knock Knock!
    2: Who’s there?
    1: Interrupting Cow!
    2: Interrupt…
    1: Moooo!

    Unless it is recited by my 3 year old, who doesn’t get that interrupting is the key to the humor.

  11. Natalie Says:

    Happy Anniversary! Keep up the good work.

    A joke?
    okay here goes…

    Why did Tigger look inside the toilet?

    He was looking for Pooh!

    hehe

  12. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Congratulations to my very talented, crafty, photographer, blogging neice! You make me proud!

    This is not exactly a joke…guess it depends on your point of veiw. It is actually true. All you crafters and quilters will appreciate this. Uncle Ken was giving me a hard time about having 3 sewing machines. He said, ” you can’t sew on but one of them at a time.” I said, “oh yeah, and you can’t fish with but one pole at a time either…he has about 20 rods and reels!” Whenever he wants to give me a hard time about what I spend on crafts, I remind him of his fishing hobby. At least I have something to show for my time. I have yet to see a fish come home with him!

    (You don’t have to put my name in the hat…I’m happy just visitng your blog!)

  13. complete stranger Says:

    That is very funny Kindred Spirit! Better than a joke.

  14. Erika Says:

    YAY! Congrats! Keep it up!

  15. Leigh Says:

    Congratulations on 1 year! Hmmm – I’m terrible with jokes! Apparently, my 3 yo has talent, though – he makes up his own…

    Knock knock!
    Who’s there?
    Bouncy ball!
    Bouncy ball who?
    Bouncy ball you glad I didn’t say banana or orange?

    He’s just a tad confused… 😉

  16. Tess S. Says:

    I love give-aways!

    Q: Which 2 farm animals are the sexiest?

    A: Brown Chicken Brown Cow (say it fast!)

  17. Alexis Says:

    My blog anniversary is coming up at the end of the month, and I’m honestly shocked at how much I’ve enjoyed it, and even more than that, that I’ve kept it up! I never stick with anything!

    I’ll tell you Willa’s favorite knock-knock joke:

    Knock knock

    Who’s there?

    Ach

    Ach who?

    You don’t have to cry about it!

    (And then she laughs like crazy!)

  18. Alexis Says:

    I forgot to say Happy Anniversary, and that I’m so glad that you have a blog, and that I found you!

  19. Lauren Says:

    i’ve been saying “brown chicken brown cow” really fast now for a while and i can’t figure it out… and i really want to.

    like the others i’m glad you blog and let me share every so often too…

    MY JOKE:
    What’s big brown and sticky?
    A big brown stick.

  20. Paige Says:

    Happy One Year Blogiversary! Yeeehaaww!! I’m glad to be with you on this little journey through the ether known as cyberspace.

  21. melissa s. Says:

    happy blogiversary. i’ve so enjoyed your blog, laughing with you as well (and sometimes at you, ha!) and reveling in your zaniness. my all-time favorite blog post is the parade one with the guy with the tag still on his pants. classic.

  22. Lisa Says:

    Congrats on your blog anniversary! Somehow I missed seeing your banana post. Thanks for the good laugh!

  23. katiekat Says:

    Congrats Tracey! I am in awe of your follow-thru…I totally be that person that thinks a blog is a great idea & then gives up 3 weeks in. You’re specialer than me…

    Q: What does it cost these days for a pirate to get his ears pierced?

    A: A buckaneer!

  24. katiekat Says:

    Q: Have you heard about that new pirate movie coming out soon?

    A: It’s rated Arrrrrrgggggghhhh! (said with a sneer & a squinty eye)

    ***so can I have 3 entries now??!!! 🙂

  25. wendiwinn Says:

    i’m leaving a comment. and since you’re kicking it old school, how’s bout i drop a dollar and maybe you pick out my name, eh?

    thanks for a great giveaway.

  26. jenny Says:

    Swinging over here from Yummy Goods and checkin’ you out! (In a totally non-stalker, non-dirty-old-man kind of way!). Congrats on your anniversary!

    Please enter me in your giveaway, I love your boyfriend! I have a vintage little people blond-haired girl in a ponytail sitting on my kitchen window sill watching me work in the kitchen. My girls said it looked just like me (something tells me I put my hair in ponytails too often!) and I had to keep it there!

    Here’s my joke:

    What time is it when an elephant sits down on a chair?

    Time to get a new chair!

    HA HA HA!! (My husband would tell me to go to my room for telling that one!)

  27. woo woo! happy anniversary 🙂 thanks for the entry.

  28. meninheira Says:

    I want to enter please, I follow you from bloglines 🙂
    I can’t tell you a joke cause I need a teacher or a traslator cause my english is terrible!! 🙂

    Hugs and congratulations for the birthday 😀

  29. Carly Tuma Says:

    Ooh, this sounds wonderful. I’d like to enter. 🙂 And I’m going to tell a joke that reveals just how much of a geek I am. >->

    What do you get when you cross a tzetze fly with a mountain climber?

    …Nothing, you can’t cross a vector and a scaler.

  30. Visty Says:

    Here’s my all time favorite joke:

    What’s brown and sticky?

    a stick.

  31. Visty Says:

    Dang, someone trumped my joke! Ha! I am glad to know that one is out in the world.

  32. Shannon Says:

    The pelican on that stuffy pattern is hilarious! And your boyfriend is dreamy.

  33. Jessica B Says:

    Congratulations, Feliz aiversario, parabens!!! and much more years of pictures and vintage goodness!

  34. sarah Says:

    happy blog-o-versary! thanks for entering me in your contest!! 🙂

  35. urban craft Says:

    I would love to try and make a little stuffed toy from your patterns for you. Lord knows I’ve got tons of fabric kicking around this place. Please count me in. I will have to pass on the jokes though. I routinely get them from a bachelor in Canada and I am afraid they are neither G-rated or in the best taste. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  36. the claw Says:

    congrats on one year! please do enter me. in your contest.

    that wasn’t my joke. here goes.

    did you hear about the corduroy pillow?

    it’s making headlines!

    my favorite joke. enjoy.

  37. Anne Says:

    One year! We should give you something; it’s like when YOU have to bring cupcakes to school for your birthday.

    I have no jokes, but here is my son’s:
    why did the chicken cross the road?
    Because he was a chicken head.
    It doesn’t make sense, but he’s 3.

    Congrats!

  38. caroline Says:

    Oh, I’m in.

    I’m braindead this morning. I’ll give you a joke later!

  39. Met you on Flickr. I’d love to be entered. I’m doing a blog give away also. Stop by me and enter~ Mercedes http://www.jazzejunqueinc.blogspot.com

  40. Mercedes Says:

    My granddaughter picks the person’s name out of a cookie jar.

  41. michelle Says:

    i am a flickrite as well.
    congrats on your one year. (it is my one year at the etsy shop this week!)

    if i think of a good joke, i will be back.
    XO

  42. Michelle Says:

    Happy one year!
    Knock Knock!
    Whose there?
    Rude inturrupting cow!
    Rude inturrupting cow wh-
    MOO!

  43. Crystal Says:

    Did I leave my comment for winning all this booty in the wrong spot? To be extra sure I am posting here too.

    Pick me!
    Pick me!

  44. […] Paper Dolls for Boys is having a bit of a mystery giveaway: she will be revealing the contents of the giveaway little by little. To enter leave a comment on the blog post, for a second entry leave a joke. Giveaway ends 03/15/09. […]

  45. Raked Says:

    Sounds like a fun giveaway. Enter me!

  46. Raked Says:

    Oh, and a joke: A guy walks into a bar. He says, ow.

  47. Beth Says:

    Knock, knock

    Who’s there?

    You ever hear the joke about the broken pencil?

    You ever hear the joke about the broken pencil who?

    Nevermind, it’s pointless.

    There that is all I could do, now my head hurts.

  48. Nichola K. Says:

    Thanks for the chance.
    nicholakleyle at hotmail dot com

  49. tonya Says:

    tracey! happy year-aversary! i’ll be in touch soon, it’s been too long.

  50. Sara R Says:

    No joke here, but congratulations on you blogiversary!

  51. becca Says:

    yay! A giveaway! Congrats on your blogging diligence!

    Knock Knock Who’s there?
    Panther
    Panther, who?
    Panther no pants, I’m going thwimming!

  52. Limor Says:

    Vintage patterns! Happy blogiversary. Your blog is total eye candy, and the shapes/colors/textures/etc. always make me happy.

  53. Congrats on the one year!

    Two muffins get put in an oven. The first muffin shouts “Oh no, we’re going to be baked alive!” The second muffin shouts, “Oh my God, a talking muffin!”


Leave a Reply

