Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Miss Tilly O’Toole and The Wonderful School March 5, 2009

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 2:13 pm

the-wonderful-schoolThis was my favorite book as a child.

So in addition to having a Masters in Early Childhood Education (ahem ahem), this book instilled in me high standards.  And I have to say that I love the school my eldest attends.  Thrilled every time I walk into the place, and more importantly, so is my son.

This is national library month and today was ‘come dressed as your favorite literary character’ day.  There was an All School Meeting and kids from each class (K-8) could go to the front of the gym and say who they were dressed as and show the book.  And this is the part that takes it from a special school to a magical place for me, if you didn’t want to dress up then you could just come up and give a recommendation.  How powerful is that for kids of all ages to be recommending books to each other?!

The ASMeetings are definitely “controlled” but the leaders are not controlling.  Today the school’s  fabulous librarians opened up the meeting with a hilarious skit.  They use a sign to get the kids’ attention and the kids flash the sign back, nothing is passive but rather the children have a part in creating the space for people to share during meeting.  I do not doubt that the kids feel like participants in every meeting as opposed to an “audience”.  I just get teary with pride and thankfulness at every Meeting that my kid attends such a marvelous school.

My big guy went dressed as the “Red Knight”, a character from this book:

knightsnewcover

And my youngest a pirate based on this book:

magictreehouse4

For some strange reason I have no photos.  Which is too bad because his kick a@@ teachers had totally cool costumes on as well.  I’ll bring my camera at pick up but I’m guessing the costumes will be long gone by then!

What good book recommendations do your kiddos have for mine?  Or if you are without kids, what books do you remember loving when you were a kid?  (costumes optional)

 

9 Responses to “Miss Tilly O’Toole and The Wonderful School”

  1. Michelle Says:

    ooooo!!! Arnie; the Doughnut is a current favorite! Super fun to read out loud, especially when you get to act out Arnie’s righteous indignation when he discovers that the person who brought him home from the bakery was planning to *eat him*. Great illustrations, and lots of sprinkles to boot!

  2. Dagmar Says:

    wow, that does sound like a great school! I wish indeed that I could see pictures of your kids! my daughter once dressed up at a similar event as ‘messy Sophie’, Super completely and totally the messiest by Judith Viorst ranks superhigh in our list! A seasonal favorite is Linda White’s Too many pumpkins. Babette Cole and Cornelia Funke are Musts.
    We love several rhyming books and have been reading them for years now – hey, you asked 😉
    Chris Van Dusen, A camping spree with Mr. Magee
    Teri Sloat, Farmer Brown shears his sheep – A yarn about wool
    Teri Daniels, The Feet in the gym
    and (brandnew-thrifted) MaryAnn Hoberman, One of each
    – And now, what are you still doing here? Comeon and log on to Amazon or head on over to your favorite bookstore!

  3. complete stranger Says:

    Miss Tillie O’Toole…my favorite too!!! Along with Mulberry Street. What a great day for your boys and you! I guess my own favorite was The Gingerbread Man”. I use to pull it out when I was teaching and update it as a rap! What a wonderful way for the librarians to celebrate reading. I bet this day will be a life time memory!

  4. melissa s. Says:

    we love the magic treehouse series now, too. and, um, holden’s big into american girl right now. ahem.

  5. Sara R. Says:

    My daughter’s a bit younger than your guys (20 months), but her current favorite is Fancy Nancy by Jane O’Connor.

  6. northbranchschool Says:

    Traction Man! by Mini Grey, one of my all-time favorites. And Little Pea and Scaredy Squirrel coming in second and third.

  7. Stephanie Says:

    Miss Tilly O’Toole….was me and my sister’s favorite book. And we wanted to purchase this book to give to out children’s pre-school teacher. She is our real-life O’Toole with curly hair, a little red school, and has a piano which she plays and sings songs with the children. Is there any place or website I may go to purchase this book.

    • Vicki Says:

      I, too would like to find and buy a copy of Tilly O’Toole and the Wonderful School. I read this almost everyday to my daughters who are now 42 and 40. I would love to be able to read it to my granddaughter who is in Kindergarten.

      Anybody??

  8. Anonymous Says:

    WHere can I buy a copy of Miss Tillie O’Toole and the Wonderful School?????


Leave a Reply

