Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

We Interrupt the Regularly Scheduled Program… February 17, 2009

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 8:25 pm
Tags: ,

Sorry to bust in on “Yellow Week”  but I wanted to share (share, brag, whatever) about a fun meet up I had today with Mimi and Melissa.  Mimi and I met up once before (twice if you count her being kind enough to give me some boxes, which I will put to good use if sales ever pick up again in my shop.) but this was the first time meeting with Melissa.  It wasn’t the first time we planned to meet up but the first time it actually happened!

It was lovely.  Lovely and surreal.  It is strange to meet up with people who you a) already know bits about, some really deep and personal, from reading their blog and b) have so much in common with from the word jump.  As we climbed to the top of the stairs in Mimi’s amazing house on the way to her studio, Melissa squealed, “Just look at this linoleum!”.  I’m used to being the only friend who thinks the vintage wallpaper in the house my friend is planning to knock down and build up something else in it’s place is amazing.  It was easy conversation because we were speaking the same language without any of the awkward getting to know you chit chat, “What’s your favorite color?”.  At times I felt like they were speaking an advanced version of the language as they are both talented working artists but I enjoyed hanging in there and drinking it all in.

It is inspiring to be around people who combine dreaming with doing.

After lunch we took a walk to see an old rusted iron fence Mimi wanted Melissa to see and on the way we popped in to our local fabric store.  It was fun to watch Melissa get some recognition for being one of the Free Spirit (not Fresh Spirit as some may call it) designers and to see her do her thing.  I had to stop myself from yelling, “I’m with her!”  And her!” Next time I go in I will ask if they are carrying Melissa’s line yet.  I will NOT be buying the salmon fabric they are currently pushing.

We continued on our walk to the fence and once there we all three whipped out our cameras and began to DOCUMENT.  Each of us will post our photos and it will be interesting to see our different takes on the same subject.  Here are my non-yellow shots of the aforementioned rusty fence.

3288084639_241ab9a5c2

3288017229_88ef84d112

3288023051_11ec209f81

3288093617_de8929c7f1

I really like this one Mimi took of Melissa and I doing our thing.

So thanks for an enjoyable afternoon.  Being with you both has expanded my dreams and for that I am grateful.  That sounds a little dork-ass-punk (or DAP as my husband says) but it’s a true story.

 

4 Responses to “We Interrupt the Regularly Scheduled Program…”

  1. Mimi K Says:

    It was really fun! Thanks for the great write-up- so much more articulate then mine 🙂

  2. Linda Dunn Says:

    Don’t you just love meeting people who speak the same language? Other people can be nice enough, but I feel like my native tongue is Urdu or something when I make conversation with most of the world. Vintage linoleum, you betch’a. (My first kitchen, on rehab, revealed Grey linoleum with -get this- pink, black and green polka dots. Wow.

  3. Alexis Says:

    I love blogland because I’ve found other people who get as excited over fabric, or an old child’s book, or a great cookie recipe as I do. I can’t seem to find those people in real life.


Leave a Reply

