Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Vintage Photo Friday February 13, 2009

I forgot about Vintage Photo Friday!   I am sure that you didn’t though. You must have worried yourself sick, checking back every few minutes compulsively to see if I had updated.  Fret no more!

Today I present a couple of vintage photos of my Granny taken when she came to visit me when I was born in Bangkok, Thailand, 1969.

granny-in-bkk1

I was talking with my dad on the photo while uploading these photos (my kind of multitasking, blogging and talking on the phone instead of say, folding laundry and making dinner) and I realized that my dad and I found the dress my Granny is wearing in these shots while I was home in December.  We were sorting through the behemoth collection of items stored in my Granddaddy’s old antique store when we came across it.  I brought it home intending to sell it in my shop but am glad I didn’t get around to it!

Look how happy my Granny looks!  How brave it was of this woman to travel  all the way around the world by herself.  I believe it was the first time she had left the state of NC.  I will be keeping the dress!

grannys-dress1

And of course I used some of her clothespins to pin it to my window hanging! I really do wish she were alive and I could bring her here for dinner to meet the children, ask her stories and of course to take more photos of her.

Here are a few pages from her scrapbook of her visit to Thailand.

granny-in-bkk_00021

granny-in-bkk_0001

That yucky bit is a very vintage stick of gum.

I am lucky I come from a long line of savers.  I feel like I have such rich pieces of family history and heritage and I wish all my grandparents knew how much I appreciate and value them.

———-

And please check out Shannon at Pineapples & Artichokes

I am so glad that she is joining me in Vintage Photo Friday.  Let me know if you would like to play along and I will link to your blog.  Cheers!

 

9 Responses to “Vintage Photo Friday”

  1. Paige Says:

    You are very lucky indeed! And those photos of your grandma are great – what a trooper!

  2. Shannon Says:

    I was waiting for this, because I still want to play along.
    http://maydela.blogspot.com/2009/02/vintage-photo-friday_13.html

  3. Complete Stanger Says:

    Your Granny’s dress was made by Anjalee at Asia Hotel. It is Thai cotton. She had several made on her visit to Bangkok. What a lovely tribute to her. We always had a special connection to Granny, and that trip make the connection even more special.

  4. caroline Says:

    My grandmother ALWAYS kept a pack of chewing gum that she would chew in private. I can almost smell it!

    Sure wish I still had one of her dresses, though. What a treasure!

  5. lexi Says:

    Those photos are fantastic – and the dress is divine. So glad you didn’t sell it. And I love her albums – they are beautiful. You come from a long lineage of collectors. Love it.

  6. Anne Says:

    Oh, you have to keep the dress.
    Vintage Fridays? Did I miss something? Yes, I want to join in – I hope I have some time to put something together for this Friday.

  7. Dagmar Says:

    how amazing!! I just love that you kept the original dress of the picture. – can i still join in for the ‘vintage fridays’?

  8. kelley Says:

    Wow . I love your Granny 🙂


Leave a Reply

