Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Fight the Power February 12, 2009

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 2:03 pm
Tags: ,

becca-gets-an-idea

My super cool friend from college, Becca, is full of great ideas!

She has a fun etsy shop:  Treehouse Togs.  And yesterday she was on TEE VEE!

I can not figure out how to stick the video in the blog but here is the link. (Anyone know how?)  She was interviewed as a small business owner reacting to the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act.  Check it out, it’s informative.

I just found out that the law would make it illegal to sell vintage children’s books!  Are you NUTS?   So the thrift store will no longer sell them to me?  So I can no longer sell them to you?  I know I’m coming late to the party, but I am outraged and a little scared!

***And on another note, thank you all for your fabulous ideas for the auction.  I think I have a plan (but am still accepting your sage advice) and look forward to sharing the finished product with you.


 

2 Responses to “Fight the Power”

  1. becca Says:

    Thank you PDFB! actually, I did recently read (and will try to find the link) that vintage books are considered collectibles, not intended for reading!, and therefore are not a problem. This whole thing is a fiasco. There’s so much partial, confusing information out there! I am printing out the Guide to the CPSIA from the CPSC staff (and having been “prepared by the staff and may not have been reviewed or approved by, and may not reflect the views of, The Commission”)
    for what it’s worth.

  2. Complete Stanger Says:

    Oh, for Heaven’s sake! Sounds ridiculous.


Leave a Reply

