Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

No Spend February :: FAIL February 4, 2009

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 3:17 pm
Tags: , ,

I thought this sounded like a good idea and I am was am on board.  I have already allowed that second hand does not count, let’s not go CRAZY.  But today I blew it with one very cool purchase!  I embarrassed myself, and probably all of you as well, while paying for it at the counter.  I said, and I cringe, “All my blogger friends are going to be so jealous!”.  I said it OUT LOUD.  To another human.  I completely dorked out and maybe secretly I wanted the very hip cashier lady to say, “Oh, you blog?”  thus thinking me immensely more interesting and cool than she previously had summed me up to be.  Moving on.

You really are going to be jealous though.  Is this not the COOLEST fabric ever?  I paid more than I usually do for fabric  but come on!  The aforementioned cool cashier lady said it was made in South Africa.  I bought it here.

Here it is all packaged up.  It’s a little over 2 yards, is my guess.

fabric-from-south-africa-i-bought-today

I like this bit and hope to use it to make a stencil.  I’ve been wanting to do some etched pint glasses.  It’s on the list.

detail-from-new-obama-fabric

Cool selvedge which I thought was called salvage until this amazing  crafter.

selvedge

Now some would have ironed prior to taking these shots.

cardnial-obama-fabric

I bet I could beat 90 % of them at arm wrestling.  100% at air hockey.  That last one is a FACT.

obama-banner-detail

I do not know how I am going to cut into this.  But cut I must as my 6 year old (who was with me for his dental appointment) has requested a pillow for rest time at school with Obama’s face in the center.

obama-fabric-2

I have a project for me in mind as well.  Will share when it comes to fruition.

Hope you are having a hopeful day!  (and that you are a twinge jealous)

 

13 Responses to “No Spend February :: FAIL”

  1. Cindy Says:

    If you are going to break the no spend it may as well be on something good and this is a little fabulous. I love that your son wants a pillow – so cool – and perhaps jealous.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    you’ve most definitely elevated your cool/hip status in my book.

  3. Paige Says:

    Jealous much? I ask myself. Why, yes. Yes I am!
    What a fab find! Can’t wait to see how the pillow turns out, and what you have in mind for yourself…

  4. Lauren Says:

    shine shine… i really love that part

  5. prairie daze Says:

    no. way.

    i want it.

  6. Anne Says:

    Yes I am jealous.
    The real world has no idea how cool we (bloggers) are.

  7. caroline Says:

    TOTALLY jealous!

    And once again, your post made me guffaw.

  8. Complete Stranger Says:

    Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo Sketch Tattoo!!!

  9. Yo Brotha Says:

    by the way i posted as mom on accident! muh bad.

  10. Amber Says:

    Please, please remember to post the project photos. I can’t wait to see wear this fabric is headed, and I am super jealous of your find.

  11. Complete Stanger Says:

    Love the star on his lip. Indeed, a special get!

  12. Alexis Says:

    I absolutely give you an official exemption for that amazing fabric! I can’t wait to see what you make!


Leave a Reply

