Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

And Then He Said… February 1, 2009

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 3:58 pm

Part of a conversation with my 6 year old today:

Me: What job do you think you might like one day?

Him: I want to stay at home.

Me (Internally) – Oh what validation of what I do as a MOM.  How great that my son has not bought into traditional gender roles.  I must be doing something right!

Me (Out Loud):  You want to stay home with your kids like mommy does?

Him:  Yeah.  [pause]  I just want to do nothing.

1

Love you kiddo.   I would not have traded my “nothing” time with you for anything!

 

9 Responses to “And Then He Said…”

  1. Alexis Says:

    Why does doing “nothing” make me sooooo tired?

  2. Paige Says:

    That’s so sweet! Gotta love those little rascals…

  3. Chris Says:

    Nothing. What a concept!

    This reminds me of my early teaching career at a preschool in Amherst. The youngest child of a famous entertainer was in my class and we were doing a unit on families. At one point the conversation turned what parents “do.” This child, age 4, (and daughter of a well-known African American comic with a long running tv show- think Huxtables) thought and thought a long time about what to say about what her father did for “work.” She finally said, “He cooks meat.”

    We were all rather stunned, but then what four year old would even know that her father was famous when all she ever saw him do was grill something for dinner?

    Love it, T. We and all know just how much “nothing” you do!

  4. melissa s. Says:

    Of course! He wants to stay at home and lay on the couch and eat bonbons all day, just like all us SAHMs do! LOL! It’s the perfect life.

  5. Anne Says:

    I hope he doesn’t let the secret out!
    Have fun doing nothing all week.

  6. therese Says:

    haha, that’s hilarious 😀

  7. megincl Says:

    Oh, I love it. Glad to see him at school today…

  8. Complete Stranger Says:

    “The child was a typical four-year-old girl — cute, inquisitive, bright as a new penny. When she expressed difficulty in grasping the concept of marriage, her father decided to pull out his wedding photo album, thinking visual images would help. One page after another, he pointed out the bride arriving at the church, the entrance, the wedding ceremony, the recessional etc. “Now do you understand?” he asked. “I think so,” she said, “…is that when mommy came to work for us?”

    The other side of the coin! Great photo of The King.

  9. Visty Says:

    Ha ha ha…the little DARLING.


Leave a Reply

