Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Sick of Sick… January 29, 2009

Filed under: Craft,Family & Friends,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 2:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

and Tired of Tired!

Both boys sick again, damn winter.

…and…

Before I had my own blog and realized how easy it is to manipulate “reality” through photography, I used to visit sites and feel inferior about how cool and clean everyone’s house was.  So in the interest of keeping it real, here is a shot taken the same day and in the same room I did my tutorial.   It was a glorious day spent making and creating crafts (and a mess) instead of picking crap up, which I find is NO FUN whatsoever.

making-not-cleaning

See the fun shirt special ordered by my 2 (kinda soon to be 3) year old?  Now see that pile located just under our hands?  Big dog food storage bag bought at IKEA full of clean clothes waiting to be folded and then never put away, which accounts for the mess just above the bag.  Hard to tell because it all looks like one pile but it’s all about 3 piles deep.   The furthest pile, living safely at the top of the stairs,  is a box of our Chanukah stuff with bags from our trip to NC in DECEMBER on top of them.  The remaining colorful bits are the kids’ winter jackets and snow pants. This place does not have a hall closet and the over flow from the “gear” basket is maddening.

But it is a cute little shirt!  From the depths of mess much creativity can emerge.  Right?  Now I am going to try and at least put the Chanukah stuff away.  I HATE cleaning so much.  I wish it was different but it has always been this way.  I LOVE rearranging and reorganizing but it’s the monotonous upkeep that blows.  Surely I am not alone in this.  Does everyone just suck it up and deal?

And here is a link to a wonderful photo on Flickr by CowboyMontgomery, whose photography I deeply admire.  I am going to order a print of this for my 40th birthday.  I will not, however, be making a cupcake shirt with 40 candles for the occasion.

 

7 Responses to “Sick of Sick…”

  1. Thanks for the kind words on my blog. One thing you’ll never have to worry about with me is that my house is clean and neat. It is bad enough now with one kid, but with two more on the way I am resigning myself to non-stop mess for the next 18 years or so.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Hope the kids get better soon! Love the idea of turning your son’s design into applique on his sweater – I bet he was so proud!

  3. Paige Says:

    Love the cute sweatshirt – let creativity ring, right?! I hate cleaning, too, especially dusting. I’d rather eat a handful of worms than dust. Well, not really, but almost!

  4. melissa s. Says:

    love the shirt! hate cleaning, too. My kids know to go straight to the dryer to get dressed in the morning. Ugh, it’s never ending!

  5. Oh yes, I hate cleaning. I’d be willing to be probably more than you. Your little piles are nothing…they don’t scare me one bit. 🙂

    When I took the Xmas photos of my tree and fireplace, I had fits of laughter, because if you all could have seen the loads of junk that was just outside the picture. Sometimes I do feel I should keep it real and post pictures of all my chaos and mess, but really my blog is my happy place. I like it all shiny and bright. 🙂

  6. Visty Says:

    You know, I really think a tshirt with 40 candles on it would be kind of funny.

    I agree: I love to spend a day rearranging the kitchen, but all the while the toilets are screaming from being eaten alive with mildew.

  7. Lauren Says:

    i love your shirt, the little boy belly and your piles… it’s all part of the package. a very wonderful package, not like frozen pickle juice.


Leave a Reply

