Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Braggy McBragstein January 26, 2009

Filed under: Family & Friends,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 1:33 pm

I am blessed with really amazing friends.  They are all thoughtful, smart and funny.  I mean, HELLO!   (Wait, is it likes that attract or…)

I love my friends, and not just when they give me stuff.  It’s just more bloggable when they do.  Hear that my dears?  Want to make the blog?  Hit the thrift store and think of ME!

Here are the spoils from a late Christmas/Chanukah exchange with a couple of girlfriends this weekend:

Kate got me a collection of vintage bottle stoppers.  This red guy with a bushy moustache is my absolute favorite.  I think I squealed when I saw him.  She didn’t even remember that I collected little moustachioed men.  How perfect is he?  He’s just the right combination of charming and terrifying.

little-man-with-moustache

She also gave me this really cool vintage circus toy.  It has these amazing little caster wheels that I find thrilling.  I am like a child with tin toys.  Love them!

circus-is-coming-to-town

And Lauren made my youngest this pillow that has the letters of his name that button on and off for cozy sleeping and fun learnin’! Always the teacher. 🙂 I did not get a close up of the buttons but I think they are from her vintage stash.

pillow

As I have grumbled about before, Lauren is the MASTER of all freezer paper stencils.  She made this for my oldest, a pogo enthusiast.  She asked, “Do you think he’ll be a little embarrassed by it?”  Then we both cracked up.  His exact words upon seeing it were, “Well, I am the Pogo Master!”  Something else I’m chalking up to being 6, braggart supreme.  I’m clinging to the believe/hope it’s developmental, not character driven!  Of course now that I think about it, my Face Book blurb last night was, “Just got back from the arcade and am happy to announce my total domination at the air hockey table!”.  And isn’t this whole post a brag about my new stuff?!!!

pogo-master-freezer-stencil

Hmmm, so maybe he gets it from his dad.

 

6 Responses to “Braggy McBragstein”

  1. cindy Says:

    I LOVE That bottle stopper!! So lucky!

  2. kira Says:

    just wanted to say I LOVE your blog…have been a fan for a long long time!

  3. uncle danno Says:

    Takes a clever friend to have a clever friend!!! Very cool gifts, indeed. By the way, I love my bottle stopper, also a gift from a very clever, crafty “friend”.

  4. uncle danno Says:

    Oops, did not check the email and name in previous reply…that’s what happens when you have MULTIPLE people using your computer!!! A Complete Stranger…

  5. Lauren Says:

    it’s great to have a friend that inspire you to craft and be crafty. And it’s not bragging when you are talking about ME!

  6. Anne Says:

    Definately from his dad.


Leave a Reply

