Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

New Year, New Room January 2, 2009

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 9:56 am
Tags: , , ,

I am not a believer in Feng Shui, mostly because I know very little about it.  But as I walked down my hallway and counted no less than 7 piles  to step over I started think of them as obstacles.  Not just piles but hurdles that are accumulating in our lives that just can not be good for our mental health.  Or physical for that matter, poor little guy slipping and tripping down the hallway as he runs at full speed (is there any other speed?).  So I spent the end of 2008 and the beginning of 2009 picking up piles.  Instead of focusing on the fact that in their place more piles would sprout up magically and instantaneously,  I let the piles lead me, like Hansel and Gretel, to the biggest pile in the house – the craft room.

I was so embarrassed by the “before” shots that I tagged them private!  I’ll put up the afters because honestly, being accountable on the blog was a big motivator, but the shots don’t capture the room or the feeling I get being in it. Taking them at different times in the day did not help.  Ok, excuses over.  Funny but I feel a little nervous about sharing my little sanctuary.

Jumping now:

the-craft-room

I bought the depressed looking lady I named Maudlin Maude from my cousin’s booth at the Antique Mall near my parent’s house.  I added a bit of ephemera to her in hopes of cheering her up.  My cousin refuses to share her  source of great thrift in Washington, NC so if any readers have any NC tips for me, I’m listening!  (Hi Pat, Thrift over family?!!!!  Soooo not my style!)

desk1

I got the paint by numbers in Delaware on the trip down. My husband pulled over because I was losing it in the car.  I got 3 PBNs at a super price!  And you’ll recognize the vintage suit my little guy wore to the Bar Mitzvah. Makes me smile every time I look at it.

dsc_0973

My calm collection

dsc_09761

I love this corner.  It’s stuffed with my some of my packing supplies and yet remains cheery!

I don’t have the heart to get the rest of my NC scores up from the basement because I’m thinking the room has reached maximum capacity!

It is a tiny room full of my crafting supplies and collections to keep &  sell but I love it now that I can walk in (without obstacles), sit, breathe and work.

What do you do for storage in your craft room?  Love to see links to photos you have shared of your creative spaces!

Happy 2009

 

9 Responses to “New Year, New Room”

  1. Sharon Says:

    It looks great! I have a craft corner (although we do have a room downstairs that is available, I like to be upstairs where the action is). I can’t show you my corner right now because it sounds like your before, but like you, I am hoping to rid myself of some piles of clutter. I just visited Zab in NC and her house was like a Pottery Barn ad (I mean that in a non-snarky way, it was beautiful and peaceful) and it made me want to declutter.

    I’d like to know more about your light box – I tried to build one and it failed.

  2. complete stranger Says:

    Way to start the New Year! One pile at a time! Your craft room looks fabulous…colorful, organized and creatively YOU!

  3. melissa s. Says:

    i love it! it looks cozy & crafty. and, is that a jackalope holding your embroidery hoops? priceless.

  4. Alexis Says:

    I love that room! Right now I just have a really messy corner for my crafty stuff, but I hope that will change this year…

  5. Chris Says:

    Wait. You have your OWN ROOM?

    (Rapidly thinking of excuses to tell eldest when she returns from college to find her room now taken over by crafting mom)

  6. Tonya Says:

    Yay! You did it!

  7. Susan Says:

    I wish I had a craft room. I am limited to a “craft amoire” that literally became a crafty mess overnight and I have never had a chance to get a handle on organizing it. So I totally understand how that would translate to an entire room.

  8. Interesting to read about the obstacles and hurdles. Your creative space looks fantastic and full of inspirational items.

  9. midge Says:

    Great photos. Posting photos of my space helps to keep me honest. Having a place to go and just be your creative self is the best indulgence.


Leave a Reply

