Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Teacher Gifts! December 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 3:28 pm

I have been a bad blogger and an even worse blog reader lately.  Forgive me! Or rap me once on the knuckles and then forgive me if you must.

I wanted to share the aprons I made for my son’s teachers.  I am super proud that they came out looking like real aprons!  I don’t usually make things that are meant to fit or have a particular shape.  I usually stick to sewing amorphous creations.  But with the help and support of my lovely craft group (I do not think it’s possible to look forward to craft night any more than I do) I was able to make 2 aprons.

And speaking of craft night, look what I am wearing this very moment:

dsc_0048

See me trying to pluck that snowy tree right out of the ground?

Chris, my secret swap partner, knit these beautiful fingerless mitts for me!  Aren’t they gorgeous?  And check out the vintage button embellishment!  Thanks Chris 🙂

As for the aprons, I used the book, A is for Apron by Nathalie Mornu (which I highly recommend) for inspiration and directions.

apron-kate-wchair kate-apron-close kate-card

I am going to include a vintage Classroom Reader with each apron.  I was super excited to find this one, which was a library book at an elementary school in Woods Hole, since his teacher grew up on Martha’s Vineyard!

meg-apron meg-apron-with-train meg-apron-close

I made this one to be kind of like a waiters’ apron.  It will wrap around her tiny waist and make front and back pockets.  I sewed a channel down each side to make separate pockets.    I like the look a lot and hope it holds up.  My next apron will have a heavier weight for the background fabric.   I bought some Sharpies to clip onto the aprons when I give them to his teachers as well.  I was thinking they would show that they could be used for the classroom to tuck stuff away, if they want to.  No pressure!

Ok.  Must go do a bizillion things.  Will catch up with you soon.

 

9 Responses to “Teacher Gifts!”

  1. Alexis Says:

    You are so thoughtful and crafty!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Lucky teachers!

  3. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Don’t know why that showed up as anonymous…it’s me Kindred Spirit!

  4. prairie daze Says:

    i wish i was your family’s teacher. : )

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    What a clever, crafty gift for the teachers. I know they will appreciate the thoughtful gifts.

  6. melissa s. Says:

    LOVE those! the fabric combos are yummy!!!

  7. Paige Says:

    Very nice aprons and fingerless mitts!

  8. katiekat Says:

    The apron turned out beautiful! I love that fabric combo. I am so proud as a fellow crafty member….

  9. Lisa Says:

    Brillaint aprons – bet the teachers loved them. They re teamed beautifully with the vinatage book.


Leave a Reply

