Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

I Say “Bar”, You Say “Mitzvah”. Bar – Mitzvah! December 9, 2008

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 1:32 pm

We went to a cousin’s Bar Mitzvah this weekend (the kind of cousin that’s too hard to figure out exactly how you’re related – maybe 3rd cousin? on my husband’s side).  Main point is that he’s a great kid and we were honored to be there.   AND I got to put my little guy in the vintage suit I found a while ago at the thrift store.  It’s pure vintage perfection, if I do say so myself.  My husband and I “debated” whether or not this would be what we’d put him in.  When I told him I had taken it to the dry cleaners he said, “I thought you were JOKING about him wearing that!”.  Nope.  And since if you’re still hanging around here, I’m guessing you too are a fan of vintage and will appreciate one of my favorite thrift scores.  It is more challenging to find thrifted goodness for boys, and I have a broad definition of “boy stuff” as my little guy sitting next to me in his floral MiniBoden attests to.  And yes, the people behind us DO have a pink and blue house.  Jealous?

vintage-suit-ftw

dsc_0077 dsc_0051

The outfit was just as adorable with the jacket off.  I had a hard time figuring out what to put under the suit.  Luckily there is the best second hand kid’s shop fairly close to us.  I hesitate to mention it by name because of my selfish nature.  Oh well, good over evil and all – Aunti Erl’s Exchange in Bedford is a great spot to find funky kids clothes for a better price.  Elizabeth, the owner, is great and I have taken lots of outgrown clothes there for credit.  I always walk out with almost as much as I brought!   I went in a semi-panic and found everything I needed but the socks.  I got the grey little boots there and they were perfect!  The shirt is from IKKS and I spent a little more than I wanted on that one but it was NWTs.  I don’t know if you can see it but it is a white t-shirt with parts of a grey and white knit sewn on chunkily with red thread.   I liked the contrast with the vintage suit plus did I mention it was down to the wire?!  I could not find the right socks anywhere so I bought a pair of women’s socks and then cut and sewed them to size.   I used 2 of the button’s from my Granny’s stash to shorten the suspenders but they still were a little droopy so I every so lightly stitched them to the shirt.  It made the diaper change a challenge but well worth it.

I had already picked out something suitable for my big guy who told me firmly, “Oh no.  I am NOT wearing the lederhosen!”  Have I mentioned the lederhosen before?  They are also thrifted and in perfect condition.  My oldest agreed to try them on for me once but made it clear there would be no repeat performance.  The lederhosen is now a family joke/threat.  Here’s an example of the power of the lederhosen.  Scene:  morning before school or as I like to call it, the dark period.  Let’s say my oldest is dragging his feet or complaining to the (my) breaking point and so I say something like, “Would you rather wear the lederhosen to school today?  It can be arranged…”  Works every time.    While at Aunti Erl’s I found a really cool pants and vest set, just the right size, color and softness to pass the many stringent tests of my big guy.  As incentive to wear the vest I let him pair it with a soft shirt underneath. He has a hatred for button down shirts that has nothing to do with fashion.  It’s a tactile thing, so the soft Italian combo fit the bill.

dsc_0275_2

More importantly than looking damn cute, the boys held it together beautifully for a 6 hour affair.  Yup, 6 hour Bar Mitzvah.  As you know we like a themed birthday party around here so my oldest said afterward, “I think that was a disco & candy party”.  There was a DJ and a Teen Wrangler.  This guy worked hard.   I’m not happy with the photos.  I will be putting “attachment flash” on my Hannukah list.  But here they are so you can hopefully get the feel.

dsc_0110 dsc_0164 dsc_0291

One of my favorite shots is this one of the big guy’s first time saddling up to a bar.  The bartender’s face expression in this one, coupled with the wine he was flowin’, made me love him momentarily.

dsc_0126 dsc_0140 dsc_0061

Here’s my niece and nephews:  busting a move, doing to limbo and sitting quietly during the service!

dsc_0272 dsc_0149 dsc_0273

Here are 2 of my favorite cousins of my husband.  I was thrilled to sit with them at big bad table 13. We had nice chats and my little one got to catch up with a favorite “honorary” aunt.

dsc_0189

And lastly.  I don’t know the kid but I’m guess if ever there was a kid who didn’t need a big ass pixie stick it was this guy.  Here he is bowing to the DJ/fun booth and snorting something a lot more potent than pixie dust!

 

13 Responses to “I Say “Bar”, You Say “Mitzvah”. Bar – Mitzvah!”

  1. Sue Says:

    I could use, “a big ass pixie stick”. I’ll also take that cute vintage suit!

  2. Cake and Pepper Says:

    6 hours? Oi vay.

  3. Complete Stranger Says:

    Little guy better bring that cute vintage suit home to show Complete Stranger! Too adorable for words; and how grown up Big Guy is getting. He looks so handsome in that “soft suit”; also needs to be worn in the South! The party looks top notch. Glad you enjoy all the cuz and the grove.

  4. Tonya Says:

    That outfit is amazing! I should be so lucky when I’m out thrifting. I rarely find good clothing.
    That last picture is the icing on the cake of a great day. Too perfect. It reminds me of shots we have of drunk guests at our wedding doing air guitar on the floor. Without apology.

  5. cindy Says:

    oh dear that’s a great find and your lil one looks so darn cute in it!!!!!!

  6. Expat Mom Says:

    LOVE the suit! He looks like a little British boy from the war!

  7. melissa s. Says:

    both boys look so handsome (fighting urge to call them ‘cute’ as i’m learning firsthand that ‘big boys’ loathe ‘cute’ these days). but those socks…so darn CUTE!!!!!

  8. The whole ensemble is truely vintage perfection. I love the boots and socks with it. Now I want one for Theo! I’m making him a vest and tie for Xmas…will see if it stays on…

  9. Cassi Says:

    The vintage suit is perfectly adorable! Lucky you! Such beautiful, err, handsome boys you have too 🙂

  10. Lisa Says:

    Looks like an awesome party. Your sons look so handsome in their suits!! I am with the big guy on the lederhosen!! Enjoy it while it lasts – as they get older they tend to get more particular about their clothing

  11. Your boys are too cute. Hmm, making alterations to make lovely vintagey childrens clothing…another side of the Paper Dolls for Boys business?!?! 😀 Those boys are already great models!

  12. Paige Says:

    That suit on your little one is just way too cute. Way to rock the vintage finds! And your oldest at the bar? Funny! You captured the whole event so well in words and pics, I feel like I was there, too, as your long-lost school chum tag-along person!

  13. Carrie Says:

    I LOVE that vintage suit! I am on a hunt for some baby lederhosen. My dad is from Germany and my husband’s side is Norwegian. People say our little Boden looks like a german soldier (not a bad one….a good one!) So I might have to find a pattern and whip something up for him.


Leave a Reply

