Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Book Week :: Day 2 (okay, NIGHT 2) November 12, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 12:05 am
Tags: , , ,

I had a stack of vintage children’s books by my computer to share this week.  I am a sucker for vintage books.  Old books that have been held by many hands, books with crazy inscriptions, antique books with their letterpressed illustrations, books with timeless concepts and books with antiquated ideas and dreams.  I love them.  But then I read Anne’s posts and got actual suggestions for books to buy my guys for Channukah and I realized maybe I should share some books that can still be bought at your local bookshops or everyones’ local Amazon.

One of my all time favorites is called What! Cried Granny : An Almost Bedtime Story by Kate Lum and Adrian Johnson .  In the story Patrick comes to stay with Granny but does not come that well prepared.  I do not want to ruin it for you but Granny is very crafty and builds a bed, plucks feathers and stuffs a pillow, makes a quilt, whips up a softie and is an all around patient and pretty cool Granny.  I like it because it makes us laugh, because the Granny is resourceful and strong and because the grandson gets away with a little trickery which always makes the kids smile big.

51bhwgrc55l_sl500_aa240_

And now from smiling to big sappy tears streaming down your face.  Patricia Pollaco writes meaty kids books and I love her for it.  Mrs Katz and Tush is my favorite.

mrs-katz-and-tush

From Amazon,

In this special Passover story, Larnel Moore, a young African-American boy, and Mrs. Katz, an elderly Jewish woman, develop an unusual friendship through their mutual concern for an abandoned cat named Tush. Together they explore the common themes of suffering and triumph in each of their cultures.

I always choke up at the end of this one.  I haven’t been able to read it since my husband’s grandmother died but maybe it’s time to pick it up again.

And in case you haven’t read The Keep Quilt, get it out of your library.  Fabric + history = A quilt.

keeping-_quilt

I recommend P. Pollaco for kids who are 7 years or older.  While beautiful picture books, they are also text and content heavy!

Enjoy book week. Please feel free to leave your favorites and/or suggestions in the comment section!

 

5 Responses to “Book Week :: Day 2 (okay, NIGHT 2)”

  1. Anne Says:

    These are great suggestions, adding them to my list!

  2. Lisa Says:

    We love Patricia Polacco too! The favorites in our house are Tivkah Means Hope and My Rotten, Redheaded Older Brother. She is such a wonderful storyteller and illustrator.

  3. Complete Stranger Says:

    I love to read about reading those books to the brothers.

  4. Complete Stranger Says:

    PS: I think YOU should write a book!

  5. Alexis Says:

    I love Mrs. Katz and Tush, and I’ll have to check out the others. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

