Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Sick of Halloween Yet? October 29, 2008

Filed under: halloween — twlowenstein @ 12:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Looking for last minute costume ideas?

This was my son’s first costume and it was super easy to make.  I repurposed a thrifted sweater by adding some white fuzzy fabric to the front and attaching a felt tail which I sewed and then stuffed with packing peanuts so it would hold it’s shape but not be too heavy.  I took my husband’s hat and attached little felt ears and my favorite part is the little claw feet.  I just cut pieces of felt, sewed on  claws and tied them over his sneakers.

Trick or Treating at Fenway Park!

I got this costume idea from MARTHA and I tweaked it a little, take that Ms M!  It’s made of foil cups folded and then layered to look like armor, little aluminum loaf pans are tied over the shoes and round pie pans are used for the shoulder protectors.  I painted some coffee holder thingies grey for the arm armor.   And we turned the old milk jug space helmet into a knight’s helmet complete with a duct tape face plate.  Oh, And I used the collar from a hideous shirt given to me as the neck guard and the back of the shirt for the chain mail skirt.

Last year my big guy was a skeleton.  We freezer paper stenciled (best craft in the WORLD) the bones on an old sweatsuit and then painted the toe bones on thrifted dance shoes (shoes that were totally spied by my son who had the vision for them as part of the costume.  So proud!).  Since my little guy was too young to pick a costume we made him the pulmonary system – I  sewed the body bits on a red tee shirt using fabric scraps and then unraveled an old baby sweater to make the veins.

This year we will have a vampire and a clown.  I don’t know which will be scarier. Stay tuned!

 

2 Responses to “Sick of Halloween Yet?”

  1. Visty Says:

    Those are great!! My daughter wants to be a cat for halloween for the 5th year, but this year she wants something covering her feet. I’m going to use your skunk claw idea.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    great costumes! the pulmonary system is pure genius! I may steal your packing peanut idea for a hatchling costume I’m supposedly making (but which may just turn out to be a chicken)


Leave a Reply

