Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Strange Days, School Days October 15, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 11:07 am
Tags:

I have moved 21 times in my life. That’s a lot of throwing out, packing and unpacking. That’s a lot of things &  friends lost and forgotten along the way.  And yet I still have these.  I came across them tucked into my desk drawer in a little clear plastic bag.  Why do I still have these?  What did they represent to me at the time? Friendship?  Popularity?  And why am I still holding on to them?  Do kids even do this anymore?  Where are these folks now?  Why didn’t we, “stay friends forever”?  Do they blog?

You can’t find this many WINGS at an airport!

Here are a few of my favorite backs of the photos:

I dated that first guy, Mike, and his brother.  I won’t tell you which two they are up there, but they are there!  Hint, they are the CUTE ones.

And now for a completely self-indulgent splattering of ME!

Not even going to analyze.  But I know you caught the wisps!!! edit – did I post 12 photos of myself?  Just checking.

I was just getting ready to type, “I’d kill a goat to be that thin again.” when my little one came over to the computer, pointed and said, “Momma!”.  Goat saved, child kissed and photos tucked away again into my drawer.

 

17 Responses to “Strange Days, School Days”

  1. Tonya Says:

    Look how cute you are! I can’t believe you never had short hair.

  2. Expat Mom Says:

    Fun! I wonder if anyone will contact you after this post? 🙂

  3. Anne Says:

    I’d kill an entire herd…

  4. caroline Says:

    Oh, those pictures are PRICELESS. That’s why you’ve kept them all these years.

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    Your grandmother did the smocking on that sweet little blue dress. I believe these friend photos are the “Maryland years”, right? You were the soccer queen and we were the super obnoxious soccer fans! Loved every minute. And those darling photos of that darling girl…do not show her best feature…her heart.

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    P.S. What is Your definition of “cute” boys?

  7. OMG! It’s everybody I ever went to school with. I love the surprised/ stunned kid about three rows down. It looks like the photographer said something really inappropriate before he snapped the picture. I also love the awesome badness of the double-exposure over the shoulder ghost profile — who thought that looked good? Why did they make us do it?

  8. Dating 2 bros. is still my fantasy. Sigh…

    2sweet2be4gotten = gr8.

  9. Ok, either you lived in the midwest at some point, or there are clones of the people I went to school with. My guess is that you are about 2 years younger than I am (deducing from fashion of the photos).

    If you DID live in the midwest, please email me. I have to figure this out!! 🙂

  10. Chris Says:

    Farrah Fawcett Hair!

  11. Lily Says:

    Love that last question– do they blog? I’ve thought about certain people that I used to know– wondering where on the world wide web they might be. LOL

  12. Lily Says:

    (or rather that last question in the first paragraph. One day I will learn to edit before I hit ‘post’!)

  13. Paige Says:

    Sweet! And I know my picture is in there somewhere…I’m just having a hard time recognizing myself amidst all the retro-goofiness! (My fave picture of you? The one where you’re standing at the dest with your hands folded atop a book. So very prairie-girl/Laura Ingalls! And I LOVED Laura Ingalls!)

  14. Great post! Inspired.

  15. Deanna Says:

    I’m a Navy brat who also moved alot. I, too, have photos in baggies tucked into yearbooks. *love* the “reflections” shots! I recently did a scrapbook 2 page layout of my hairstyles through the years. Too funny to see your pics, too.

  16. I loved this post, so cool you still have all of those pictures. I loooove those old photos of the person looking forward and then slightly to the side their heads are out in space. Do they do those anymore? They should, it never fails to crack me up and wow me. You weree a super cute kid! Love the blue-smocked dress picture, so sweet.

  17. uh, not weree, were. typo queen here.


Leave a Reply

