Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

The Room October 7, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 11:37 pm

Cleaning my “craft” room has been on my to do list for some time.  And I have, only to watch it rapidly slip back into the junky abyss.

It was my craft room, then it was a nursery (kinda) and now it’s my “office”.  It’s a place where I store my ever growing “inventory”, take my product shots, package my sold items, store all my craft stuff and maybe possibly one day create something.  It is a tee-niney room.  I am sharing these photos in an effort to motivate me to organize so that I won’t have to constantly declutter.  I need to set up systems so I can walk in, ready to work, and not have to play a crazy version of Thrift Store Twister.

I am starting to understand just how important good natural lightening is to a photograph.  I need to sign up for a course, quickly.

So what do you think of the antlers?  They are vintage, really really vintage.  I got them at an estate sale.  I initially planned to sell them in the shop but decided against after reading these words from buygail on etsy, “My point is here that if you do not do your homework in regards to what is legal in taxidermy you could find yourself in hot water with the feds.”  Cool, I’m out.

They are kind of growing on me though.  You saw that coming, right?

And I don’t want to talk smack about anyone but I paid someone to do my Majaba advertisement, not much but payment was tendered.  I am not pleased with it.  I am embarrassed to say it did not occur to me to make my own damn ad.  Until tonight, that is.

Thank to Lauren for teaching me the word geegaw!  How did I not know it?

So I have written to the folks at Majaba and hopefully they will switch it out.  If you have an Etsy shop and you haven’t heard of Majaba, check it out.  It’s the stats you crave, another chain from your heart to the computer, it’s GREAT!

And for the record, yes.  YES!  Yes, I just might be the last person to make embroidery hoop fabric circles to hang on the walls.  But I’m just going to crank up my boom box so I can’t hear your mockery.

 

9 Responses to “The Room”

  1. lexi Says:

    Mockery? My goodness. What are you talking about lady – the room looks wonderful. I’d move in, in a flash. Love the fabric circles – I think they’re timeless.

    The antlers are wild (pun not intended). I love them.

    I dig the room. Big stylie. And then some.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    thanks for the majaba tip! i will become addicted shortly, i’m sure. i’m ‘hearting’ that monkey print!

  3. Notice there is no floor shot, so don’t pack your moving boxes yet!

  4. Lisa Says:

    Your wall display looks great! I just jumped on the embroidery hoop bandwagon recently too, ha ha.

    Thanks so much for the tip about majaba! I hadn’t checked it out before. Your ad looks very eye-catching. I’d love to hear about your experience with advertising there…

  5. Complete Stranger Says:

    Your work room just jumps with color and shapes and creative energy. Looking good, girl.

  6. Paige Says:

    I second that comment – lookin’ goooood! And I hate to burst your bubble, but I am most definitely the last person to make embroidery hoop fabric circles for my walls because I haven’t made them…yet! But then again, I think they’re timelees, too.

  7. lauren Says:

    honestly, until i read the last sentence, i thought you were so smarty crafty with the hoops… now i’m the one out of loop (ba-dum-dum) i didn’t even know they were old news. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that bird fabric.. with the yellow and red… really, it’s love.

  8. Leah Says:

    I love the hoops. I’ve never seen that before and I think I’m going to start making some!

  9. cindy Says:

    I love this! So creative and cute. PS the post b4-those are PERFECT days. cute kids ya got there lady ;o)


Leave a Reply

