Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

I’m on a Roll… October 6, 2008

I’ve got butter on my pants!  Boom-CHA

2 in one day.  Special for you because you’re special.  Blogging is like that, spurts and spells (most of mine, dry).

I had such a good rummage/yard sale day on Saturday.

I met my friend at a church rummage sale first thing Saturday morning and got some good bits for the shop plus a huge framed papyrus with all the Egyptian gods painted on it for the growing collection of Ancient Egyptian art and artifacts in the boys room.  After the Unitarian church sale we went to Charlie and Pat’s rummage sale were I pick up 2 beautiful vintage Italian Christmas creches.  You don’t have to celebrate the holiday to have a good eye, my pretend Jewish great grandma always used to say!  On the way to drop my friend off back home we squeezed in a yard sale.    We got some cool games and random goodness.  I hit “just one more sale” (or two) on the way home and hit the MOTHER LOAD.  You know how when you pull up to a yard sale and you know if it’s a match or not.  I parked and immediately began scooping up the scores.  I really wanted all the other folks to vacate the premises and claim this one as MINE.  I bought a pair of vintage roller skates all rusted and lovely:

3 framed vintage children’s albums.  Some framed funky prints, an atomic tea cup and saucer that had a tin sheriff’s bandage in it, and 2 metal tables that are the most perfect shade of green. They are keepers.

Photo does not capture the olive-y greatness that these possess.

I told the woman I loved her taste and stuff and we had a great conversation.  I even slipped her my card, which was my challenge to myself of the day.  She let me into the garage, which was blocked off ( I had already asked about buying a metal globe located in the cave twice), and showed me 2 boxes of dolls. This beauty caught my eye and I bought the boxes off the cool woman with fabulous taste (you should have seen the house!).  A kind flickr flickrer informed me it’s a Japanese pose doll.  She’s fetching.  I’ll be posting her and some other finds in my shop today and tomorrow.  I hope she goes to a great home.  I had a blast acquiring her.

Here is an old Japanese ad featuring pose dolls:

 

4 Responses to “I’m on a Roll…”

  1. Complete Stranger Says:

    JUST TOO CUTE FOR WORDS…JAPANESE OR ANY LANGUAGE! BE SURE TO INCLUDE THE YOUTUBE VIDEO IN YOUR SHOP WHEN YOU HAVE THE POSE DOLLS FOR SALE. CONGRATS ON YOUR LAST STOP, GREAT FINDS!!!

  2. lexi Says:

    Wowsers! You sure did hit the motherload – that’s awesome. See you just got to wait and then BOOM! Ding ding ding – you hit it! That pose doll is WILD. Love the metal tables, very cool. Well done.

  3. Kate Says:

    Great finds! Thanks for your comment about the gocco printing – I used fabric ink on the fabric. I think I need to stock up on supplies before the end of the year!

  4. caroline Says:

    Great loot!

    Just got home from Hawass. It was so totally awesome. He was amazing with the kids especially!


Leave a Reply

