Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Hug Please September 26, 2008

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 1:37 pm

This morning was a rough one.  My oldest son has allergies, some more severe than others and the list grew today.  I don’t usually write about his allergies on here because A) I feel like it’s not really my story to tell and B) it just feels a little too personal/scary.  So I might delete this but for now I’m going to process with you as my support.  How’s that for needy blogging?

This is the first allergist appointment my husband has missed in the 5 years since we’ve been going.  He just couldn’t make it.  I packed 3 bags of snacks, books, toys and tricks in preparation for what is always a long appointment.  Both boys did an amazing job of holding it together through all the shuffling from one room to the other and the waiting.  My usually calm and reasonable child was panicky and freaked though when it came time to do the skin test.  I’ve had it done but it was a long time ago and I don’t remember it but judging from his reaction I know that it is painful and scary for him.  4 panels of allergens, covering his whole little back, were pressed into his skin while he sat on my lap pleading for them not to do it.  It was heart breaking.  I am not usually a reward type mom but I was offering up everything but a pony (mostly because I was affraid he’d be allergic to it).  Then we had to wait 15 minutes for the reactions to really kick in.  Not fun.  Thank god for the television in the separate waiting room because it kept my little guy happy (along with the lollipop and stickers) while I fanned my big guy’s back and tried to keep him focused on anything other than  the growing angry welts.

The results were a bummer.  More allergies, both food and enviromental. More daily strategies to combat the asthma that comes as a a result of the allergies.  And mostly, more to worry about.   I always feel compelled to say that I know there are MUCH worse things that could befall my child other than allergies.  I know it.  He’s a healthy child who has asthma and allergies.  I got it.  He’s also my kid and I worry about him.

__________Stepping away from the computer__________________

I actually feel better now.  I just had a total momma bear moment.  I left the computer and got pissy on someone for smoking on the stoop.  Retracting claws.  Our new neighbors below us are very nice etc.  but her brother is visiting, an extended visit.  He’s also very nice etc. but he smokes.  He smokes out front and it bugs me but today he was smoking on the porch.  Makes sense since it’s pouring but it was wafting up into our apartment and it was too much for me at this moment, today.  I just went back down and did a follow up, “Sorry if I snapped at you.” kind of thing.  But I have to say, it felt good to DO SOMETHING.  Even if it was yell at some guy standing on the porch trying to stay dry.

So maybe it wasn’t a hug I needed after all!

 

11 Responses to “Hug Please”

  1. Annika Says:

    A great big hug and a rah-rah cheer, if you don’t mind getting them from a stranger.

    My husband had horrible allergies as a child, while I had none. He’s described the skin test and it just sounds awful. I’m pretty anxious with wondering if our son will take after him.

    While you’re right that there are many things worse than a kid with allergies and asthma, those are a lot and you shouldn’t feel bad about feeling bad.

  2. Paige Says:

    Sending a big virtual hug your way, and one for your brave boy, too. Those allergy tests are no fun at all….

  3. melissa s. Says:

    hugs to you b/c 1 i know what it’s like to live with allergies and asthma and 2 because i know what it’s like to worry about my little ones. neither make for a fun day. have a good weekend!

  4. Leigh Says:

    I’m a new reader, and first-time commenter… I’m sending hugs your way, and a “Go Mom!!!” for yelling at the smoking guy! 😉 My son is almost 3, and his severe allergies scare me so much. I have never had allergies, but my husband has some bad ones – our son got the worst of it. There are others like you and your son out there… we’re out here for you!!!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Sending lots of big hugs your way!! Sorry to hear about your son’s allergies – it is hard enough keeping your kids safe without having extra things to worry about! Take care.

  6. lexi Says:

    I can’t even imagine how difficult it must be. Here’s a big hug. Next time I go bin diving you can come with me. I’ll let you in on the location of my bin, in the hope it will make you feel a wee bit better. xxx

  7. Visty Says:

    I want to tell you that many allergists now do a blood test. They take some blood, and then the lab subjects the blood to the allergens. It’s supposed to be more accurate and less traumatic. Poor kid!

  8. Maple Says:

    huge hugs from us all! gpkt

  9. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Auntie sends xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox to both of you! And you go girl on the smoker! I’m allergic to that!

  10. Anne Says:

    Hug.
    We have been through the test, so I know about those fun visits. We are fortunate that my son’s allergies are mild, but that doesn’t stop me from trying to control our household environment-special vaccums, cleaners, wool pillows, covers – like we don’t have enough to do. It’s frustrating and to add asthma in the mix, makes it scary.

  11. mom of son with peanut allergy here. just one allergy so far, mild in comparison to your son’s situation, though I do feel your pain. hug –


Leave a Reply

