Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

The Girl is Crafty Like Ice is Cold September 25, 2008

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 1:54 pm
Tags: , ,

I am in a craft group.  Sweet words, those.  They way it works is that everyone brings what they are working on and we sit and eat and chat and share and work.  Feel free to use our revolutionary group as a model for your own craft cell.

I had visions of fabulous photos to share with you that would capture the vibe and all around good time that is craft night.  But I realized that it’s not the “stuff” that makes it so enjoyable but the companionship, teasing, laughing (and maybe the wine) that makes it a night I look forward to.

Here is the host of the evening holding the incredible bag she made.  She’s a hooker (craft not profession). She made a rug that looks impossible to make by hand but I believe her when she says she made it!  She also knits and sews and can make just about anything else I’m sure!  Thank you for hosting at your lovely house, for making yummy eats and for putting up with all our (ok, mostly my) stories of what squicks us out.

This crafty lady likes a little peach wine cooler with her crafts!  Yeah, it’s a screw top.  So WHAT?!!  She was working on a pair of pants worthy of her very handsome little guy!  You can’t just buy pants that meet such a criteria in the stores.  My fingers are crossed that she loans them to my little guy when her son out grows them.

And here is the best freezer paper stenciler on the planet.  Which really rankles me since I introduced her to the craft at the last meeting.  Isn’t that against some kind of craft group etiquette?  She showed me up at my own damn craft.  It ain’t right.  She has volunteered to make a Dracula shirt for my Halloween obsessed son so I can’t stay mad at her (Haunted Doll House coming soonish!) .

Here she is doing the robot while making a robot.  Hoot and a half.

And luckily I was able to grab the partial shot of H above before she had to jet off to watch Project Runway.  I’m voting for her to win PR even though she isn’t on yet.  She made a skirt entirely out of “fabric” from Home Depot.  Eat that Heidi Klume!  She is also an accomplished wood worker and a great example for my sons.  The other day my oldest saw a vintage hand saw at the thrift store and asked if we could buy if for H because she would love it!  We passed on it because of a loose handle but it made me happy that he though of her first.

We coaxed M out of her house and were very happy that she showed up.  Not to brag but she is a published children’s book illustrator and her books have a special place on the boys bookshelf!  She brought a project that we all can relate to, the unfinishable.  I believe she has hand sewn the whole thing!  And I won’t tell you when she started it, that’s her story to tell (or not)!

I wanted to make a silhouette of my boys somehow incorporating some of the amazing family ephemera I got this summer but I didn’t have the right tool for the job.  Any suggestions?  The little rotating cutter tool thing or tiny scissors?  So I made a folded book and I’m going to go ahead and call it a sculpture.  It was simple and soothing and provided instant gratification.  I have a hard time ripping or cutting into books but somehow I justified folding as not “ruining” the book.   I understand how the argument could be made to the contrary, and it may have been questioned by the librarian in attendance and I may have reacted defensively but peace prevailed.  Peace prevailed.

Funny but somehow I got the most photos of my project…

The last two shots were taken in my house (FTR).

Next craft night Lauren and I are going to be co-hostesses with the mostesses!  Lookout!

 

8 Responses to “The Girl is Crafty Like Ice is Cold”

  1. Paige Says:

    What a fun evening! I think it’s awesome that y’all get together for a crafty evening. Talent abounds, I can tell!

  2. melissa s. Says:

    i’ll watch for my invite to your next craft night. do they allow sewing machines on airplanes?

    cool stuff and friends (especially to let you post pics of them robot-ing)!!!

  3. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Happy crafting! No matter what you are working on, it is always more fun with a buddy! And with good food…who could ask for more!

  4. Tonya Says:

    That looks like a great time, though I might just be pregnant and craving a glass of wine. Either way… some day I might just crash your craft night. You know, if you let me.

    For the silhouettes, try an x-acto knife. That’s what I used when I made them. Don’t know if it’s the best tool necessarily but it did the trick.

  5. lauren Says:

    If you think I out-crafted you at stenciling, just wait till you see what I’m planning on folding at the next group. And, since you captured all the fun/funny perfectly, i’ll add that it’s good to have a little motivation to stay crafty and think of projects to bring to group. Even if it’s just stealing other people’s ideas for the next go around. Pants for my little man, here I come. Someday I’ll be brave enough to try hooking.

  6. Complete Stranger Says:

    Would like to have been a fly on a probably handmade, crafted, quilted wall , watching all you “crafty” women have fun and do your magic!

  7. cindy Says:

    As the one who drinks “peach wine,” I’d just like to say that loose lips make crafty quips….and some kick ass pants. Wow, does that even make sense? So glad to be part of the gal pal fun!

  8. Chris Says:

    As the ‘loose lipped hooker,’ I want to thank you all for another night of ‘ravelry!’ Just remember, a stencil in time saves wine… or something like that. Ya’ll are the best a gal could ever want!


Leave a Reply

