Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Quality Me Time August 28, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 9:43 pm
Tags:

I got a bad haircut today. Not as bad as this:

or this

——-

Just kidding Melissa! – I wish you had taken the scissors to my head instead of the woman I PAID to jack up my hair.

I got a haircut that at once looks like droopy and puffy dog ears on either side of my mug. And did I mention that she cut me some WISPS??? Like the kind I used to cut by myself when I was in 6th grade. One weekend in 6th grade I was curious how cutting my own hair would go. Since I was a little worried about messing up my waist length hair, I figured if I just took a little from the front it wouldn’t show. I am not claiming to be a hair genius, but then nor am I passing myself off as a stylist! Like someone I know…

My friend Vonda came over and watched the boys so I could go have some “me” time. How in the world did having kids turn getting my hair cut into quality “me” time? Anyhow, when I came back she was supportive but she did suggest I brush the wisps to the side. I spent the morning trying to convince her, and myself, that I didn’t really care how my hair looked and I succeeded, at least at fooling myself, for a while. This was strongly supported by not actually looking in a mirror. But then I did and found out that I do. I do indeed care that I look both juvenile and like the completely unhip minivan driving mom that I am. But it’s not who I am in my soul people (the minivan part, maybe) because in my delusional soul I have a little funk. It lives underground now and has for a long time but I remember her – that little patch of funk. In my mind this haircut was going to be her coming out party. I was going to let my funk see the light of day. Big plans I had.

So instead I got wisps and puffy bozo hair. Wisps! Believe me when I tell you that I do not have the face for wisps. Me + small scale= Funny. The sad kind of funny. I should have knocked the rounded brush out of her hand when I saw her approach my hair with it. I should have given her a mouth full of truck when she finished with the cut but instead I paid and tipped her. And I was voted “aggressive” on the assertive scale by my peers in my mandatory touchy feely class freshman year in college.

I am going to shower the blow dry out and sleep on it and then in the morning if I still have “Do your eats hang low, do they wobble to and fro?” playing in a loop in my head I am going to a DIFFERENT salon for a fix it cut. Sweet goodness. Wisps!

And I tried to fix them for you right before this shot.

Lesson learned today: Maybe it’s not the best idea to say to your hairdresser, “I am not that into my hair.” just before she cuts it.

Second Lesson: Don’t get your hair cut right before the beginning of the year potluck picnic for your son’s Kindergarten class. I mean it.

 

12 Responses to “Quality Me Time”

  1. AmyDe Says:

    Oh No – there’s always a cute baseball cap??? I just had my hair colored – oops – didn’t go quite as planned, but I’m working on it and I’ll be driving the extra 23 miles (yes 23) to go to my favorite girl who did everything exactly right before she moved. UGH – why does hair have to be so hard?

  2. lauren Says:

    i don’t know, i’m thinking that first picture might just be an option for you.

  3. lexi Says:

    Hey – Paris Hilton’s “The Bandit” could be a fix-it.. Snigger, snigger. Just kidding, I don’t think it looks bad.

    I have had a number of my own bad haircuts. One which reduced my art teacher to fits of giggles on seeing me, when I was 16. A great confidence booster.

    I’m going to do a response for you. I’ll support you through this bad haircut. You’re not alone! Look out for it this weekend.

  4. lexi Says:

    PS – I’m there with you on the ‘quality’ time for a haircut. WHAT HAPPENED TO ME!?

  5. melissa s. Says:

    let’s start a freaky haircut club with you and holden as the founding members.

    and i would share the horrifying result of my “end of summer sunkissed blond” haircolor request a few weeks ago but happily did not preserve the memory on film. like childbirth, the agony of certain events just need to be erased clean from memory.

  6. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Been there,,,done that! 1969 as I recall. Senior in high school with long straight hair. With a Mother who kept saying…”why don’t you do something with your hair?” On a whim, I went and had something done… a Shag…talk about whisps! Actually it didn’t look too bad, but when I walked into the house, there was a look of horror on my mother’s face, who said, “What have you done to your hair?” Hurt and pissed…I left the house and cried for two hours! Moral of story…don’t get your hair cut on a whim!

  7. Anne Says:

    Your hair looks fine to me, but you have to like it. Sleep on it and if all else fails-hat.

  8. Alexis Says:

    I hate getting my hair cut so much because it never ever ever comes out the way I want it to. I’ve actually taken to just snipping bits off myself, when the mood hits. Definitely cheaper and no worse-looking than when I get it done “professionally.”

  9. megincl Says:

    OK. I must admit to not looking too closely at the aforementioned picnic, but when I first caught sight of you, I honestly thought, “T got her hair cut. I like it!” So, not a ringing endorsement, given that it was from afar and I failed to make a proper inspection upon coming closer, but I did like the general gist of it. Bah, perhaps that helps not one bit! Or perhaps C’s bite on the hand was a ploy to distract the onlookers? (how’s it doing?)

  10. I’m sorry but this just cracked me up. I feel you pain but your exasperation was pretty hilarious. I often don’t get bangs. On some they just look so dang cute (i.e. Heather Bailey) but any time I’ve had them (not since like middle school) I’ve hated them.

    I doubt it will make you feel any better, but it really didn’t look bad in the picture. And a shower and fresh styling always helps. Sometimes I get a little bored with my hairdresser and then I remember what it’s like to get a cut from someone without a clue.

  11. Marjorie Says:

    Oh, you have me here laughing all by myself. This was funny. I needed that!!

    And it’s just hair, right? It will always grow šŸ˜‰
    good luck!

  12. molly Says:

    thanks to marjorie for linking this post! i had missed it! so so so funny. and sad. and i totally get it. i cry every time i get a haircut, and i’m not that into my hair either. thank goodness for ponytail holders. and in your case, maybe some headbands šŸ™‚ just to keep the whisps out of your face.


Leave a Reply

