Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

The British Are Coming, The British Are Coming August 17, 2008

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 5:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

If you remember, my 2 “rules” before marriage were 1) No ice hockey and 2) no reenacting. I said the first because I think it ceases to be a “sport” when they allow/encourage fighting. Take up boxing or play the damn game. And I said the last, in part because I thought is was hilarious. Like saying, no space travel on an empty stomach or something. So left field. And yet, here I am. I am the mother of a son who asked me for a colonial birthday party and implored me to keep it “authentic”, I am the mother of a son who said this morning he wishes he had the uniform of a Hessian, I am the mother of a boy who is teaching me all kind of lessons. Lesson #247, you can’t really plan the future. You can plan for it but…

I found myself on the Boston Common yesterday in a “reencampment” (I think I made that term up) a quick Google search proves I am not as clever as I thought I was 3 minutes ago. In celebration of 50 years of the Freedom Trail they staged a reenactment of the encampment and we were there.

It was a pinch colonial mall, a couple of shakes drama (seemingly random cannon fire), a good helping of learning and hella fun!

I know I shouldn’t lead with this and I am not mocking, my mocking days are loooong gone. But this was the first shot I took of the day and it pleases me.

After this crew passed us, my husband said, “That wasn’t really a baby. It was a 40 year old woman reenacting the part of a colonial baby.” He’s funny. And I’m in love with Picnik and am experimenting with my photos. The absurdity of a Polaroid of this scene is the stuff giggles are made of – for me!

This colonial sailor was my favorite costume. There was a time in my life I could have pulled this look off. Minus the hat. There is a colonial wedgie shot but I think posting it wouldn’t be in the spirit of the day. Turning 39 has really matured me.

“Hi, can I take your photo please? Just face the sun. Yeah, right there -that’s good!”

Not my best shot but I wanted to give a shout out to my reenacting women friends-to-be. Drum and fife baby, drum and fife 4 life!

I did not mean to make a reenactor come close to tears. Really. I just wondered what the translation of this flag was in English. Too bad they didn’t have Google in colonial times. Quo-Fata-Vocant = Whither the Fates call. Still not sure what it means but I love the colors.

We saw quite a few men and boys sewing and mending yesterday. I appreciated the good modeling for my boys.

Folks put up these tents and actually slept out on the common. When I was living in DC I came up to Boston to check it out and while walking through the Common saw one homeless man stab another. Just something I’d be thinking about all night if I was in one of those tents.

We bought a tri-corn hat from the man that belongs to these shoes. A nice man up from New Jersey with his family for a summer vacation, reenactment stylie.

I edited to add these photos because I couldn’t help myself.

Something about the orangemanogbanana headed reenacter makes me happy. Even the reenacters have to get their caffinati-ON:

My big little guy sporting his new hat. Coming and Going:

Here is my little history buff. He and I wanted to take the silhouette cutting class but we had to go to a ninja/sword fighting birthday. But that’s a post for another day!


 

11 Responses to “The British Are Coming, The British Are Coming”

  1. Kindred Spirit Says:

    Excellent photos! Makes me want to take a trip back to Boston!

  2. lexi Says:

    Fantastic photos, the colours are so punchy, and the content – wow!! I never knew people got up to such things on their days off, and there I was cleaning the house when I could have been playing dress-ups (can I call it that?).. Now that’s some educati-ON for me today.

  3. Jessica Says:

    Seriously good photos. I mean you’ve got a real “eye”. And I liked all the playing around with frames etc.

    So funny that your boy wants a colonial b-day. I would never have guessed they would get into that…

  4. I LOVE this post! And I love your humor. your lil fella is so cute modeling his hat. Kinda looks like Captain Hook. Wich would be fitting since there are Crocs on his feet. tic-toc. Oh and is that Stephen Baldwin you have laughing in that photo? LOL. Sure looks like it.

  5. Anne Says:

    Oh, I love these photos – especially the first one.

  6. Paige Says:

    Great pics, especially the last one. Truly superb, girl!

  7. cindy Says:

    WOW! Those are some awesome photos! I love the vibrancy of all the colors. Thanks for stopping by my blog ;O) I hope your brother likes the song also

  8. sarah jane Says:

    Hello! Just found your blog…and your shop! I love your photos, and that your boys are just like my boy…loves the outdoors, loves to sew and cook (OK, he is 2 but he is very domestic!) I just bought 2 things from your ETSY shop and I can’t wait! You have great stuff in there!!

    xoxo
    sarah jane

    http://www.sarahjanestudios.com/blog

  9. Scott Says:

    Marvelous photos…I love the redcoats by the portapotties! My wife’s dad and sister are HEAVILY into Mountain man (1840’s) re-inactment, and we actually have one of those tents…I love sleeping in it myself…I feel very taken back to basics….
    (and I have a felt tri-corn hat myself, but don’t where it out much these days)….

  10. lauren Says:

    i love this whole day. and all of the pictures that go with it. in my head i am picturing each of your faces as you wonder through the reencampment- the complete joy on your boys face as you and E send smirks back and forth. great pictures!
    just remember, these aren’t just actors, they are REENactors.

  11. bodkinandlace Says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog. Wanted to say that I actually belong to the group standing around the Porta-Johns, and I have to say, it’s one of my favorite photos I have seen of my dad! Thankyou for taking it and posting it!


Leave a Reply

