Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Flash From the Past…At Least it’s NOT E@@y Related! August 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 9:19 am

I woke up this morning with a jolt and yelled at my husband, “Did I leave my camera in the bathroom?” ! I jumped out of bed, hurdled over piles of homeless clutter, dodged the stacked bins (remnants of our recent trip) and squeezed through the bathroom door that would not open all the way due to bathtime blockage on the floor from last night. Luckily the camera was not left in the bathroom after taking this shot to document the horror:

Everyone is always going on about how Crocs are a crime against fashion blah blah blah. I am a Croc’er, and I wear them with neither shame nor pride. Those f@ckers are just comfortable. But here’s the problem with them – HOBBIT FEET. These are my son’s feet after 1 day of normal play wearing his crocs. Sorry to spring that shot on you, just thought you might be wondering why I had the camera in the bathroom in the first place.

So after I gathered myself from such a harsh awakening, I thought of a little paper piece I did a few years ago.

Here is an excerpt from my GetCrafty “blog” about :

I haven’t felt that inspired lately so I decided to experiment with housewife art, a topic that takes up a lot of my mind and time. I’ve begun a journal/altered book project trying to express some of my feelings about traditional gender roles and my seemingly constant struggle with our home. I feel torn, part of me wants to tuck this ‘pop-up’ away into my journal and another part of me wants to nail it to the front door.

The front of the card reads, “For Show” and the back of the card reads, “For Real” – I don’t know if that’s legible in the photo.

This is the first thing I’ve posted that makes me feel a little exposed so wash me in the gentle cycle.

People responded to it a number of ways. Here’s the link.

It was at a time we were doing a lot of playdates. The kind where we showed up at a new friends house and she had baked some bread for the boys with wheat berries she ground herself. Not so shocking if you read blogs now-a-days but at the time it had some impact. It was a time that we were traveling in new playgroup circles and so when it was our turn to host I did the biggest clean ups and then acted like this is the way it always is. It took me a while to figure out the other parents were more than likely doing power cleans before we arrived and putting on a “show” and to stop comparing myself with them. Luckily now we have shaken things out and have settled on a group of good friends that do not require cleaning prior to their arrival nor do they straighten before our arrival. True friends.

What made me think of it this morning is that I can not even kid myself that I am pulling off the impostor half of this dichotomy. I have been fully immersed in that-which-shall-not-be-spoken the past 4 days and everything else has pretty much been ignored. And it has nothing to do with how everything looks to the outside world but rather how we choosing to live in our space.

Today I am unplugging (you know, after I do a post about how I am not going to use the computer and check my shop on you know what for any potential sales ONE LAST TIME). I am going to clean the playroom and then spend some time with my boys getting it good and messy again. I am going to put away everything from our last trip just in time to pack for our camping trip. I am going to slow down, relax, and do a little cleaning as I go. But I am not promising a homemade dinner.

 

7 Responses to “Flash From the Past…At Least it’s NOT E@@y Related!”

  1. AmyDe Says:

    I LOVE the artwork – it’s my life completely and I feel exactly how you do/did. I feel like everyone else “has it ALL together” and here I am in my messy house feeding my kids breakfast out of a box and searching for the cleanest t-shirt on top of the laundry pile. Glad to know it’s not just me and want to assure you you are NOT alone.

    Have a wonderful trip!

    A

  2. Paige Says:

    Ahh, crocs. My feet just weren’t made for them. I tried, but paid for it with aching soles for a couple days. Danskos all the way for this girl. (Ohh, my aching wallet, though!)
    I love your paperwork – that and your words ring true on so many levels. As the years go by I find that I feel more “Free To Be Me.” Not completely, but more -so than ever. It’s too much work to put up a front, you know? I’m too busy with my everyday stuff and kids to play along with any bullsh#$t.
    Keep it real, and have fun with your boys!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Love the housewife art! So very true. Enjoy your day – unplugged.

  4. melissa s. Says:

    i love the journal. the most meaningful art to me always shows the honest intent of the artist. and if it happens to be pretty, well that’s a huge plus (which yours is of course)!

  5. Alexis Says:

    The housewife art is so cool!

    I hope you have a great weekend and that you don’t unplug for too long, because I’ll miss your posts!

  6. lexi Says:

    This was SUCH a funny post – and definitely in line with where I am at the moment. I spent hours tidying our house before some friends came over the other day… Sigh.. Our house is always a mess-a-palooza… I hate it, but hey, that’s life in the fast lane.. I love this post.

  7. Amy Says:

    I’m very relieved to see the photos of your son’s feet. I thought my son was doing something disgusting when he came home from camp everyday with black toes. He swore up and down that it was just the Crocs but as I don’t have a pair and he is ten – I didn’t exactly believe him.

    Also, I love the photos from your parent’s house. Clearly, we are the same age because my parent’s had the same (okay, it only feels the same) wallpaper in their kitchen.


Leave a Reply

