Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Etsy Crash Course August 4, 2008

Filed under: Craft,Random Bits,Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 11:52 pm
Tags: ,

Just as I am not qualified to dispense dietary tips or etiquette lessons, I feel a little funny writing an Etsy “round-up” with one sale under my belt. But I thought it would be helpful for me, and maybe to you, to have all the tips, tricks and links that I am quickly amassing gathered in one spot.

I have been immersed in Etsy this past week. I have dabbled in Etsy from the buyers side but it’s a whole different ball of wax over here on the sellers side. It has been fun staging my shots, figure out the lighting (still not right), researching information about my items and learning the Etsy ropes in general. Posting is a much longer process than I anticipated. A wise woman tried to tell me that it was exhausting having an Etsy shop and now I hang on her every word.

Here are some links that I am finding useful as I dive into the etSEA:

Majaba This is a meter of sorts that allows to view your item views, and heart tallies.

Helpful Etsy Links Compiled by LooseWire Word on the street is she is Queen of Etsy, I kowtow.

Etsy Wiki

FAQ Etsy Sellers

Ultimate Newbie Guide

Etsy Fee Calculator

Edit to add new links:

http://www.bestysearch.com/
http://frontpagers.blogspot.com/
http://www.flickr.com/groups/etsyfrontpagetreasury/pool/

Here is a thread I started in the site help section of the forums titled What Else Don’t I Know About Etsy?

I found much of the information posted above in this thread. Thank you to all the Etsians took the time to share.

Did your parents ever read you the book about Cold Pricklies and Warm Fuzzies? It’s a, ahem, vintage children’s book my parents used to read to my brother and I in an effort to teach us about manners. We are not glowing endorsements but my point is the other sellers on Etsy so far have been total Warm Fuzzies. Very helpful and willing to share their knowledge to help out someone potentially “in competition” with them.

If you have any Etsy seller Tips or Tricks not listed above please feel free to share.

I am still wondering if there is an Etsy Vintage community/group/team that I could join? Anyone know?

Fyi I can’t put up a cute little Etsy button on WP so I have listed my shop on the blogroll for now, until I decide if I am going to jump to another server and photoless posts bother me more than posts with photos that do not really pertain to the text so here are a few shots from the shop:

 

4 Responses to “Etsy Crash Course”

  1. Tonya Says:

    Join this group, Tracey. http://etsyvintage.ning.com/
    I’ll see if I can send you an invite through the site.

    Thanks for posting those links! I didn’t know about most of them.

  2. Alexis Says:

    Thanks for those links–I’ve been thinking of setting up an Etsy shop, but I’m scared!

  3. Peg Says:

    Tracey,
    Thank you for sharing. I found your ‘crash course’ on another Etsy site…don’t even remember where – I’ve searched so many! I’ll bookmark your links above and check them out, too. I’m setting up my shop and getting ready to list soon so I’m trying to learn everything I need to know. Don’t you love how Etsy members are so willing to share? Thanks for being one of them!
    Peg (Temptations – soon to come!)


Leave a Reply

