Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

That’s A Lot of Candles August 1, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 2:52 pm
Tags: , ,

I feel obligated, due to my natural born talent, mad skills and okay – I’ll say it – my gift, to share with you this photography fable that may or may not be of help to you.

Let’s say you lug all your merchandise, backdrop and camera gear outside for a big product shoot to finally get your Etsy shop off the ground. You schlep this stuff because you want to take advantage of the natural light (and you can’t figure out how to get the lighting right inside). Here’s the tip—–> if you enable the flash, 2 hours later when you excitedly sit at your computer to view what you just know is genius you will A) get smacked in the face with reality because B) every damn one of your shots will look like this:

It looks like I took these shots on the face of the sun. Well at least I think that’s where I went wrong but I’d sure like to find out for sure before I try this all over again. If anyone has any advice, tips or tricks I am, as usual, I’m all ears! Did I mention that I got a NEW CAMERA? Very exciting and slightly frustrating – I know, it’s obnoxious to whine when I am very lucky to get such a present. It’s just taking me a little longer to acquaint myself with the new girl. My husband gave me the camera for my 39th birthday! I had to do the math and I was a little surprised since I thought I was turning 38. 38, 39, big deal – but my brain swerved a little. My husband, who used to bring me a little present every Friday after work for Shabbat, and I haven’t really exchanged presents since we had our first son and I decided to quite the job that paid me in money to stay home etc. etc. So I’m very grateful, just impatient. I will add “read the manual” to my Summer Time To Do List (which is not getting any trimmer).

 

9 Responses to “That’s A Lot of Candles”

  1. Tonya Says:

    I don’t think I’m qualified to give advice because generally my photos aren’t so great but, from all that I hear about etsy photography, the word is: no flash. only use natural light.
    (So on a gray day you might be out of luck.) Or you could build a light box, which there are directions for on etsy somewhere.
    Can’t wait to see your shop!

  2. therese Says:

    yeah, i see what you mean about the photos (and i agree; no flash!), but still – looking forward to see the shop! 🙂

  3. Yeah, they suck for sure. I’m going to give it a shot again tomorrow and hopefully have better shots to show!

  4. melissa s. Says:

    i am a total crap photographer so don’t listen to me, but i try to take outside photos either first thing in the morning or lastly in the afternoon when the sun is low. and believe me, i’ve wasted many an afternoon trying to do otherwise. congrats on the new camera!

  5. lisa Says:

    Taking product photos is so much more difficult than I expected! I dream of hiring someone who knows what they’re doing to take mine but it’s so expensive. I just wanted to say I can relate to your frustration. Lots of trial and error and wasted time taking hundreds of photos that are no good. Thank goodness for digital cameras so I can just delete, delete, delete! And photoshop helps too.

  6. Digital camera = NO BUYING FILM OR PAYING PROCESSING! If you were paying a bunch of money and wasting a bunch of time waiting for the pics to be developed that’d be one thing. Youse aint gotta do that so I says ‘Suck it up. Take more pics!’ :p

  7. lexi Says:

    1-2, 1-2.. Is this thing even on?

    Oh, here we go….

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!

    I know I’m late. Damn fool. But messages take longer to get to you, all the way from Australia. Hope you had a great birthday and didn’t get your hair singed by the candles.

  8. lexi Says:

    PS – I like those photos.

  9. Jessica Says:

    OK I was going to leave a bunch of technical advice because I’m such an EXPERT on my camera and I too have a nikon… 🙂

    But I’ll send you an email…except to say I agree…take a ton of pix.


Leave a Reply

