Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

True Story June 30, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 7:26 pm
Tags: ,

One time I was walking home through Harvard Square (like the way I dropped that name in there) and I heard someone running up behind me. A woman, around my age (then early 20’s) said, “I’m looking for a friend.” So I asked her if she could describe this friend, maybe I had seen him or her. She said, “No I am looking for a new friend!” oh. She was in the States for a couple of months from Japan doing some sort of exchange and she was looking for someone to hang out with. uh. ok. So we went to dinner a few times and went to a couple of movies and turns out we both found a friend that day. I wish I could say we were still in touch but what has stayed with me is her courage. It takes guts to do something like that, balls and faith.

And on an unrelated note, here is a sneak peak of something going up in the soon to be shop! edit:  Opening in August.  You are invited to the Grand Opening & Wine Tasting!  Good thing about a virtual wine tasting is you don’t have to have a designated driver!

It’s a pair of metal deer bookends that, I think, are quite fetching. Out of curiosity, how would you price these? And I will be taking different photos of these for the shop, FYI!

 

12 Responses to “True Story”

  1. melissa s. Says:

    cute deers, but i’m not one to ask for pricing advice considering i own an overpaid-for collection of vintage bbq salt & pepper shakers. try ebay (although that’s where the s&p shakers came from too, hmmm).

  2. DeborahW Says:

    How much are they worth to you? Now, triple it!

  3. Visty Says:

    I don’t know, but I want them.

  4. A complete stranger Says:

    I think Deborahw has the right idea!

  5. A complete stranger Says:

    P.S. I think this display is good for the store..the red deer pick up the red in the books.

  6. lexi Says:

    Ooh they are sweet. Love them.

    And the story of your friend is great. Wow, that’s really impressive!

    PS – Sorry I Missed Your Party – rolling around on the floor laughing material, huh? You should read Robin Cooper’s ‘The Timewaster Letters’. Totally silly, but great for a belly laugh.

  7. Anne Says:

    Oh, I can’t wait for your shop to open. It’s hard to price things like this. I would try to look around Etsy or Ebay and see what people are paying for something similar. There are some online stores that sell vintage stuff you could check too; three potato four and plaid pony vintage. Good luck!

  8. Jodie Says:

    They are gorgeous!!!

  9. therese Says:

    wow, they are incredible beautiful!

  10. melissa@yummygoods Says:

    dude, just give them to me and save yourself the hassle.

  11. nancizzle Says:

    i love true stories. 🙂

  12. Racey, I am yo’brotha. Can I buy those from you now? they would match all my Red Clocks. And my Lucha Libre Masks. And my life.


Leave a Reply

