Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Summer Loving:: Day 3 June 18, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits,summer loving photo week — twlowenstein @ 12:13 am
Tags: , , ,

Photos taken during the summer of 1999, a very special summer. We had many adventures, my lovely man and I. Went to Thailand for a month to visit my parents in Bangkok and then traveled all around the country. Here are some highlights that I have no photographic proof of (or at least none that I’m sharing):

* We took an overnight train ride to a little town near the Cambodian boarder. I woke up to a blurry eyed E. who immediately threatened to, “write a letter to my congressman” about the clinking and clanking that kept him up all night. We still throw that phrase around when things aren’t to our liking and it cracks us up every time. * Getting engaged in Lumpini Park * Climbing the concrete bleachers to watch Azerbaijani play Pakistan in a match at a massive Thai soccer stadium. * Going to Koh Phra Thong for E’s birthday and waking up to the sound of monkey laughter. * Lazy jet lagged early mornings. * And of course, multiple trips to Suan Jatujak.

Here are the photos I do want to share! They are from our trip to Ayutthaya, the ancient capitol of Thailand. They were taken with my 35mm film camera and I scanned them to monster size, apparently. I have spent all the time my headache and I are able to try and fix the issue. So enjoy my super-sized vacation photos! Fries with that?


 

9 Responses to “Summer Loving:: Day 3”

  1. Anne Says:

    Oh these are great and I like them super-sized. The one with the flower is amazing.

  2. AmyDe Says:

    Beautiful! So much adventure.

  3. Tracey Says:

    What an exciting adventure! I am ashamed to say that I have never traveled so far…but someday! Beautiful photos too.

  4. melissa s. Says:

    lovely pics! i wake up to the sound of monkey laughter every day, hee!

  5. amyj Says:

    lovely lens flare in that first image! I can feel the warmth of the sun when I gaze at it.

  6. Kindred Spirit Says:

    These bring back happy 2001 summer memories for me. What an amazing time I had with my big sister there! Now I understand why she loved Thailand so much. I want to go back, NOW!

  7. Lina Says:

    The texture looks so good on film. I went there in 1995. That makes me feel old!

  8. A complete stranger Says:

    I DO have proof of the couple on that visit! Shall I post? What a special, special time in Thailand that was. What a special couple you still are.

  9. cindy d Says:

    awesome photos.. I also liked the old photos you posted above this posting. SO GREAT!


Leave a Reply

