Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

The Thrift Whisperer June 12, 2008

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie,Uncategorized — twlowenstein @ 3:29 pm
Tags: , ,

The store called me today, the kind of call that doesn’t need a phone. The textile portion of the store was one score after another. I went looking for something to hang at the end of the hallway to try and stop the cool air from escaping and found a thick plain white cotton curtain with big ole grommets at the top. It may have been a shower curtain in another life but will be perfect in the living room doorway. I also went looking for a some sheets to sew together and make a light summer comforter cover. Our current cover is dark brown with black circles and I love it but I’m feeling like something a little lighter would be good for summer. I found this and it’s already sewn on three sides. I just have to put on some button holes or more than likely, sew on some velcro to make a closure. I really like the colors and the swirly flower pattern that’s not too sickeningly floral. And then I came across these vintage gold brocade curtains. Yes! I am not usually a big brocade gal but these will do nicely, if not in the bedroom then somewhere else for sure.  edit:  This IKEA comforter is so scratchy.  Going to have to keep looking…

As I was jamming the stroller with all this yardage, I spied this little beauty on the floor in the children’s section. I grabbed it and took it to the register to ask the price. The guy asked if it was worth $5 to me and I said it WAS marked up with crayons and so he said, “$2.99?”!!!!!!!!!!! SOLD. It also came with some wooden doll furniture and a sofa set that looks like it came from the doll house thrift store.



If you think this house is really cute and would be great in your kid’s playroom, you should probably stop reading as we have big remodeling plans for this house. She is going to be turned into a HAUNTED HALLOWEEN HOUSE! Think black paint, spider webs, blood red shutters and many more spooky surprises. We will have to do something terrifying with this television. Maybe a tiny print of this photo taken at the zoo yesterday. It was in some weird little closed off cabin. My big guy said, “That is creepy!” and I immediately thought of Lost. It’s my nod to Jacob’s Cabin:

I will share the photos once we’ve finished, closer to Halloween. I’ll also share the story of how I went from a “it’s a manufactured, commercialized, sugar-filled’ Halloween hater to a full on Halloween enthusiast.

Hold your breath.

edit: Tone check. I’m totally mocking myself. I reread the title and along with the end of my last post I was afraid I was sounding like I was getting too big for my own (thrifted) britches!

 

8 Responses to “The Thrift Whisperer”

  1. melissa s. Says:

    score, yet again! just looking at that freaky jacobs cabin chair gives me the chills!

  2. AmyDe Says:

    Really? Halloween? I’m still a “hater”, but I can’t wait to see what you do with the house – what a find!

  3. megincl Says:

    jealous of the house. eagerly awaiting the makeover. is there a tv show in that, a la extreme makeover home edition? methinks yes.

  4. Tonya Says:

    Totally not a hater (we have a fog machine here, I mean come on) of Halloween. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Love your recent finds! A Halloween themed doll house sounds awesome! Can’t wait to see the make over.

  6. Anne Says:

    Ohhh, send me some of your thrifting mojo! $2.99! I’m jealous. Love the Jacob’s chair.

  7. I’m still laughing about the dollhouse sofa that looks like it was thrifted! Can’t wait to see the haunted dollhouse, great idea!

  8. Mary Jo Says:

    Did you post the photo of the dollhouse transformed and I missed it, or should I come back closer to Halloween when any rational person would expect you to maybe have done it? I can’t wait to see it…


Leave a Reply

