Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Low-Tech Wall Art June 6, 2008

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 9:52 am
Tags: , ,

I’ve been coveting the wall art stickers that are everywhere these days. Etsy has some that are more reasonably priced than the big mod sites. I particularly like this, this and this. Search, “wall sticker” on etsy and you’ll be busy for a good hour sifting through them all.

I also want to try the fabric silhouettes found at Anna Maria Horner and Ohdeedoh. I should start a summer list of projects to hold me accountable.

But here is a low tech wall treatment I made about 7 years ago, when I still had access to a laminating machine. I dream of owning a massive laminator. One year the kids in my first grade named our class The Laminators, true story. Maybe I could get rummage tattooed on one wrist and laminate on the other.

I cut fade proof paper into different sized circles, wonky is a-okay. Then I layered them and feed them into the machine. I made two panels that were originally used as curtains in our computer/craft room in our last apartment. Then when my big guy was born I used them for his nursery and here they are pictured in my little guy’s nursery, that he never took to. The one that is in the process of being switched back into a craft room, it is taking WAY too long. I put some grommets in the top to hang it and it’s held up incredibly well.

Fun, cheap and a smidge tacky – the project, not me!


 

5 Responses to “Low-Tech Wall Art”

  1. AmyDe Says:

    Very cool. Thanks for the links too.

  2. melissa s. Says:

    ooh i love that! And my mind is reeling with laminating machine possibilities. i did am’s fabric silhouettes – bump that one up on your list b/c they are easy and quickly gratifying (unlike myself). Happy weekend!!

  3. A complete stranger Says:

    Not tacky at all…creative and colorful!

  4. Cami Says:

    Super cute! It’s so fresh and modern looking. That’s a really creative use of a laminator.

  5. Visty Says:

    I love it!! Laminating is addicting, true. School office employees know this, which is why they are so damn stingy with the machines.


Leave a Reply

