Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Faux Bois is Good for Trees May 30, 2008

Filed under: Random Bits — twlowenstein @ 1:06 pm
Tags: , ,

A few months ago I came across a great lunch bag on Etsy made by the Rick Rack Queen.

Notice the faux bois oilcloth lunch bag my big guy is dragging into school, along with his little brother.

You may have seen this photo posted on my blog before, I don’t remember. I can’t promise I won’t post it again, who can keep track?

I have since ordered another lunch bag, in lighter faux bois, and a splash mat to boot from her. Yesterday the splash mat arrived and the RRQueen was nice enough to tuck in a little something just for me.

It is perfect. It’s functional, beautiful, well crafted and makes me feel good! I am hesitant to say how touched I was to recieve this keychain because a) I have very lovely generous people in my offline life and this is not to say I don’t appreciate their gestures and b) it exposes my big sappy dork side but it’s true. It felt nice to open something just for me sent by a thoughtful stranger from the crafty community. I’m not saying I don’t love all the painted rocks, toilet paper sculptures and drawings that I am the lucky daily recipient of. But I will say it was a lovely change of pace.  And I’m not soliciting for say, a whole keychain collection from my adoring fans!

So do your school shopping now, beat the rush and check her etsy shop out. .

Notice my keys are hanging on a little faux branch. I am not usually a fan of faux anything or even the word faux even though it must be tattooed on my finger tips from typing it so many times in one post. But something about wood grain, real or otherwise is very soothing. Check out It’s Knot Wood, it’s a great blog devoted to all things the F word.

Happy weekend!

 

4 Responses to “Faux Bois is Good for Trees”

  1. Carol Says:

    aww, now you made me all sappy 🙂

  2. melissa s. Says:

    they are lovely. and now i know what faux bois is. i thought it was some kind of meat dish.

    happy weekend!

  3. A complete stranger Says:

    A kid SHOULD have a faux bois lunch bag to match his French line of FABULOUS clothing; although long outgrown for sure.

    How nice to get the great keychain. I shall visit that site.

  4. dude, I love faux bois. Heck, I love real bois, too.
    And I love the word faux. I love to eat faux sausage.

    And I am a big sappy dork, myself. But you knew that.


Leave a Reply

