Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

When 2 Vowels Go Walking… May 11, 2008

Filed under: Family & Friends — twlowenstein @ 6:26 am
Tags: , ,

We’ve never been a less is more family. So bail now or go get a snack and enjoy this tribute to my MOM (she’s been called a lot of things and shy ain’t one of ’em)!

That dress, that smile, that little arm that just won’t stay still!

Thank you for having your head in the clouds!

Thanks for all those years of meals ma – your chicken and dumplings are second to none!

Here’s my mom, barefoot and pregnant with me, sitting on the kitchen floor preparing dinner.

Thanks mom for having an open mind and leading us on many adventures.

Here’s my mom respecting the local culture!

These are from our wanted poster passport.


I cannot however thank you for ever cutting my hair like that, I believe it’s called ‘the cheek framer’.

I can still hear you “suggesting” I shouldn’t leave the house without “putting a little color on my lips”, Thank you for finally giving up. Or at least continuing to say it in your head!

Who packs up their kids, one very moody (well, thank god that’s changed) teenager and a little boy with energy to spare, and drives a camper around the southern island of New Zealand? (Hi Dad!) Thank you for being brave and having faith it will all work out.

Thank you for planning the best birthday parties for me: roller rink, dress like your parents party, invite the whole darn 8th grade class, Holly Hobbie, water park! That’s us below, en route to the slides. Thank you for being a rule breaker in general and specifically for ignoring the no food 30 minutes before jumping in the pool rule!

You have inspired me to try and make my own children’s birthdays special and memorable. Thank you.

And thank you for making the m&m costumes, for letting me wear the peanuts one, for dropping us off at the teen center for the Halloween Dance (where we were the only ones dressed in costume) and for picking us up early from the aforementioned function!

Thank you for being silly and encouraging us to do the same.

Thank you for documenting it all on film and being very generous, sharing the photos with me.

Full disclosure: I AM wearing a little color on my lips in this photo. I went through a heavy make-up phase in the late eighties. All shimmery and golden.


Thank you for being a traveler.


Thank you for being a bang up granny! The boys adore you!

Thank you mom for being fun, creative, supportive, daring, flexible, and loving.

Happy Mother’s Day!

I love you.

 

16 Responses to “When 2 Vowels Go Walking…”

  1. A complete stranger Says:

    I AM crying. I am laughing. I am remembering: the former color of my hair, the adorable M&M costumes, my own love of planning birthday parties, rockin’ birthday cakes, the best family vacation ever in NZ, what the inside of the VW camper USE to look like compared to today, my engagement photo where I look naked, your “shag haircut”, that in the clouds photo taken at the Beach in Pattaya where I am pregnant with my first child who turned out to be a talented, fabulous Mother herself.

    I am seriously surprised and delighted.
    I am grateful to have two wonderful children.
    I am grateful that YOU have two wonderful children.
    I am forever grateful for this most wonderful Mother’s Day Greeting.

  2. A complete stranger Says:

    Oh, and I am “OUTED” as A Complete Stranger!!

  3. paperdollsforboys Says:

    I think the jig was up long ago “Complete Stranger”!

  4. Marilyn Says:

    What a great tribute to a great mother!!!

  5. Anne Says:

    What a lovely tribute to a wonderful Mom! Happy Mother’s Day!

  6. Paige Says:

    That’s one of the sweetest posts I’ve ever read!

  7. megincl Says:

    I love this post. For the love that it expresses, for how much of you I get to see and understand from it (multi-layered the post is, I tell you!). It is fabulous. Oh, and how very much your little guy looks like you when you were a little gal. Getting a glimpse of that: priceless. Happy mother’s day to you, too!

  8. melissa s. Says:

    What a sweet post. And once again, that last picture is PRICELESS!

  9. Lacey Says:

    Great Post!!! and Happy Mothers Day! Thanks for checking up on me…. oof,its been a busy couple weeks, moving into our new house….. which only recently got interneted. (Thank the gods!!) I havent organized myself enough to write a post yet, but I have stolen a few minutes to catch up on a couple of my favourite blogs! phew! Take Care

  10. Sis Says:

    What a wonderful tribute. It makes us mom’s proud of the talented and creative daughters that we have!

  11. Camille Says:

    That really is a GREAT Mother’s Day gift to cherish forever!
    I love it!

  12. Lisa Says:

    What a moving tribute to your lovely Mother!

  13. cindy d Says:

    aww cute tribute to yer mama! your babies are SO adorable in that last pic.. ;o)

  14. Cami Says:

    Ohhhh, this is so sweet! I loved the mini-biography of your mom and to follow the photos through the years. You both look so much alike in your passport photos – so cute! Really fun and heart-warming to read!

  15. complete stranger Says:

    In the first photo: later that day I was told that I spilled a bottle of ink on that darling little dress and it could not be saved! What a shame. What a mess. What a hint to the future of that wild woman!

  16. Julie Says:

    That was so sweet, your mother looks like a wonderful friend, parent and role model! I just stumbled upon your blog and really enjoyed your photos, thanks.


Leave a Reply

