Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Birthday Cape May 9, 2008

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 3:53 am
Tags: , , ,

We went to a birthday party at the Franklin Park Zoo in Boston a few weeks ago. I heard a lion roar for the first time, impressive. This creature was less than impressed with us.

Photo look familiar? I moved this photo into this post, where it belongs!


The party was for a little boy who loves animals so I made him a disco zebra cape. Oh how I love the birthday cape. It’s relatively cheap, easy to make, and is usually a hit with the little ones.

I slapped it on my own little monkey boy to try and get a good photo of it, instead I highlighted the wonkiest bit. I’ve had more success using a thinner velvet for the tie but I am a sucker for orange.

My favorite thing was the packaging. I’m not big on wrapping paper. I used a french bread bag from the night before. I’d like to say it stems from an environmental perspective (and I’m all for repurposing, yeah earth!) but mostly it originates from being disgusted at the price of wrapping paper and gift bags.

Recognize that bow Melissa?

I made a cape for my eldest son for his first birthday. My measuring failure has turned out to be a good thing because A.) This has been the best flying-out-behind-you-as-you-run-down-the-hall cape (sorry downstairs neighbors!) and B.) because he still uses it today and he’s almost 6!

Then:

Now:


Someone wants their own cape! Coming soon little one…

 

7 Responses to “Birthday Cape”

  1. Paige Says:

    Hop to that cape-makin’, Mama! (And I’m including myself in that command, because I have yet to make a cape for my 3-year old.) And I just love that Ikea bed. I want one for me, er, my kids.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hi! It’s nice to meet you. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment.

  3. Joy Says:

    Yeah, the comment above was left by me.

  4. melissa s. Says:

    The cape is adorable, but that last pic is PRICELESS!

  5. A complete stranger Says:

    And another good thing about mistaken measurements for the cape….a tall granny can also fly down the hall with cape blowing in her wake! Stop reading this, and go make the wee one a cape!!! Poor thing.

  6. Lisa Says:

    What great capes – just what every little boy needs to make him invincible!!

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I want a cape too


Leave a Reply

