Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Hot Tips, Get Cha Hot Tips Here! May 7, 2008

Filed under: Craft — twlowenstein @ 9:56 am
Tags: , , ,

I actually won an online giveaway!!! I left a comment at This Handmade Life (check out her thoughtfully written blog and her etsy shop) and received this bundle of beautiful cards with a spring theme. I took the photo from her site as my cards have all been mailed out!

Edit: And how could I have forgotten the cool fabric stash from Mellisa at Yummy Goods? who will forever live in my memory as my FIRST win. I also plan for her current give away to be my THIRD win, I’m just sayin’!

Pondering Ponteuf is one of my favorite Etsy sellers. Are these not the perfect pants for a fairy birthday party??? (hint hint K.) I got a similar pair of her board shorts for my little one and I’ve been racking up the compliments. I only wish I could say that I made them myself! Dropping Etsy into conversations with new people is my new litmus test ok, it’s the sad way I try to make myself feel more hip. If you use the word hip, it’s a done deal you are not.

And if you are looking for the perfect Mother’s Day Card A Favortie Design has made it:

I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of this fabric from MJ Kido’s etsy shop. I heard about her over at True Up which is a dangerous site if you have a fabric addiction (and I’m sure many of you do).

My friend Megin has a new blog, Labels are for Jars, that is worth a read. Here’s an excerpt from one of her posts talking about her son, aged 5, “He’s of a different ilk, this boy. He walks to the beat of his own drummer. He sees the world through different eyes. I think he’s very free, in many ways. He chooses what he likes freely, he follows his passions freely. And luckily he’s found a way to develop these passions free (or in spite of) many of the societal norms thrust (HARD) upon boys.”

I enjoy discussing education and mothering with Megin and I look forward reading more of her chronicles. Click the link. She’s out to change the world, one post at a time!

What are some of your new finds?

 

5 Responses to “Hot Tips, Get Cha Hot Tips Here!”

  1. megincl Says:

    Thanks so much for linking to my blog! (Pssst…come on over and visit, folks. Tracey always sends the best visitors!)

    And I’m off to get the shorts. finally!!!!!!!

  2. you’re lucky you didn’t try to say it was your FIRST win! I would have marched right over than and … welll… I don’t know what. But it woulda been good.

  3. Katie C-L Says:

    Yeah, yeah, yeah, I caved on the shorts. And you’re probably right…. it’s good to support independent crafters and the like. I just can’t go ’round feeling all rich and stuff just because I’m gonna be a principal!

  4. melissa s. Says:

    I’ve banned myself from etsy because I have no self control. But maybe just one little peek wouldn’t hurt…since it’s a fabric shop I’ve never visited…and those cards are so cute…and those pants….ahhhh!

  5. A complete stranger Says:

    I loved Megin’s quote! I think it could have covered BOTH of my children. That WAS a fun Mother’s Day Card and an appropriate play on words! Congrats on your wins. Good luck with your puppy ears and cup cakes.


Leave a Reply

