Paper Dolls for Boys

Raising 2 crafty boys and thrifting every chance I get.

Thrift Store Book Score April 25, 2008

Filed under: Thrift Scores & Pat and Charlie — twlowenstein @ 5:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m not always good at taking time away from the kids and doing something just by myself. My sweet one pushed me out of the door the other morning and I spent 5 glorious hours farting around. It was lovely.

The first place I hit was the Goodwill, as any sane person would. It was pretty much a no go for kids clothes but the book bins were overflowing with vintage goodness. When I took my stash to the counter, the previously frowning tattooed chick who rung me up totally admired my taste in books and I quote, “These went out before I could take them myself!” I’m not too ashamed to admit it put a little lift in my step.

I’m still swooning over this ebay find, a vintage toy wash bucket that I’m storing my new finds in.

This is my new favorite old book. Check out the illustrations! I think the first and last book are in Swedish. Anyone know? Katie?

And I hope I don’t get in trouble with the Magicians for sharing the following with you!

I’m not that familiar with the Pippi stories but you’ve got to admire her spunk and style.

Can you see the red hair stuck in the pages of the Pippi book? Hair from a little redheaded fan, a Pippi doll or maybe from Pippi herself?!

(I took these photos in the closet dressed in a Darth Vader costume with my eyes closed. Well kinda.)

 

3 Responses to “Thrift Store Book Score”

  1. Katie C-L Says:

    Yes, swedish it is. It’s something about christmas. I can’t wait to read it to the family!

  2. Lacey Says:

    What fabulous finds!!!! I cant remember the last time I had five hours to myself! The other day though I was on my way back from doing errands, with a ridiculously sore back.. So I stopped in to this Chinese thereapy place on our street and got a one hour massage!!!! The hour went by way too fast!

  3. Complete Stranger Says:

    Looks Swedish; but you can make up a story that will fit the illustrations that will probably be better than the original!

    You should try that Chinese therapy place!


Leave a Reply

